Teams with Most number of U19 World Cup Wins

By Vipin - February 7, 2024 - Last updated on Feb 07, 2024 01:35 PM
Teams with Most number of U19 World Cup Wins

The Under-19 Cricket World Cup is a 50-over biennial tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was first held in Australia in 1988 as the Youth World Cup with eight teams. Thereafter, the tournament was staged after 10 years in 1998 with 16 teams and it has been a 16-nation tournament held regularly every two years ever since.

Australia were the winners of the first-ever ICC Under-19 World Cup in 1988. The Aussies under the captaincy of Geoff Parker beat Pakistan by five wickets in the final match at Adelaide. Australia is the only host nation to win the Under-19 Cricket World Cup.

England were the winners of the second edition of the Under-19 Cricket World Cup in 1998. England beat New Zealand by seven wickets in the final match at Johannesburg to clinch their maiden ICC Under-19 World Cup title. The England team, though, has failed to reach the final across the last 11 editions of the tournament.

The Indian cricket team is the most successful team in the Under-19 World Cup winners list, with five titles to its name. Led by Mohammad Kaif, India won their first-ever Under-19 World Cup title in 2000. The Indians beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final match at Colombo. Yuvraj Singh was the player of the tournament with 203 runs and 12 wickets in the tournament.

virat kohli

Eight years later in 2008, the Indian team under the captaincy of Virat Kohli beat South Africa by 12 runs in a rain-marred encounter to win their second Under-19 World Cup title. India achieved the feat again in 2012 under the captaincy of Unmukt Chand before Prithvi Shaw and Yash Dhull helped the Boys in Blue lift the title in 2018 and 2022.

Apart from India, Australia and England, the Under-19 World Cup winners list includes four other nations - Bangladesh, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies.

Pakistan won their maiden Under-19 World Cup title in 2004 and repeated the feat in the following edition in 2006 by beating India in the final by 38 runs. Pakistan are the only side to win back-to-back ICC Under 19 World Cup titles.

South Africa won their first ICC Under-19 World Cup in 2014 while West Indies bagged their maiden title in 2016. Bangladesh won the 2020 edition of the ICC Under-19 World Cup after beating India by three wickets in the final.

U-19 Cricket World Cup Winners List

Year Winner Runner-upHost
2022 IndiaEnglandWest Indies
2020 BangladeshIndiaSouth Africa
2018 IndiaAustraliaNew Zealand
2016 West IndiesIndiaBangladesh
2014 South AfricaPakistanUAE
2012 IndiaAustraliaAustralia
2010 AustraliaPakistanNew Zealand
2008 IndiaSouth AfricaMalaysia
2006 PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
2004 PakistanWest IndiesBangladesh
2002 AustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand
2000 IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
1998 EnglandNew ZealandSouth Africa
1988 AustraliaPakistanAustralia

Also Read: PAK vs AUS U19 World Cup 2024 Semi-Final: Squads, Timing, Live Streaming

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner