List of Indian captains who won the Under 19 World Cup

By Kaif - January 18, 2024 - Last updated on Jan 18, 2024 06:54 PM
List of Indian captains who won the Under 19 World Cup

Under-19 Cricket World Cup is starting from 19th January. This time South Africa will host the Under-19 Cricket World Cup. But do you know which team has won the Under-19 Cricket World Cup how many times? Actually, statistics show that the Indian team has dominated the Under-19 Cricket World Cup. This time also Team India will enter as the defending champion. Till now, India has captured the Under-19 Cricket World Cup trophy maximum 5 times.

How many times has India won the Under 19 World Cup?

  • Year 2000
  • Year 2008
  • Year 2012
  • Year 2016
  • Year 2022

India had previously become champion in the years 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018. The team also made it to the 2006, 2016 and 2020 finals. Now it is expected that in the 2022 edition, the Indian team will achieve the distinction of becoming champion for the 5th time under the leadership of Yash Dhull. Let us look one by one at all those captains who have made India Under-19 champion 5 times so far.

List of Indian captains who won the Under 19 World Cup

1. Mohammad Kaif (2000-Under-19 World Cup)

Mohammad Kaif

For the first time in the competition, India became champion in the year 2000. This year the command of the Indian team was in the hands of Mohammad Kaif. Yuvraj Singh, who is today known as Sixer King across the world, was present in the team to support him. In this tournament played in Sri Lanka, India won the title by defeating the hosts by 6 wickets in the final.

2. Virat Kohli (2008-Under-19 World Cup)

Virat Kohli

Under the leadership of young Virat Kohli, the Indian Under-19 team became world champion for the second time in 2008. In this World Cup played in Malaysia, the Indian team won the title by defeating South Africa by 12 runs under the Duckworth-Lewis rule. Apart from Virat Kohli, many such players were included in this tournament who are ruling world cricket in the world today.

Also Read: Team India squad for T20 World Cup 2024

3. Unmukt Chand (2012-Under-19 World Cup)

Unmukt Chand

Under his captaincy, Unmukt Chand made the Indian Under-19 team champion for the third time in the year 2012. In the final match, he scored a century against Australia and made India the world champion. In the title match, India defeated Australia by six wickets and Unmukt Chand scored unbeaten 111 runs while playing the captaincy innings.

4. Prithvi Shaw (2018-Under-19 World Cup)

prithvi shaw

The Indian Under-19 team was made champion for the fourth time in 2018 under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw and coaching of Rahul Dravid. In the title match of this tournament played in New Zealand, India defeated Australia by eight wickets. After this, Prithvi Shaw also got entry in the Indian team. Even in IPL, he made a lot of noise for Delhi Capitals. Star players like Shubman Gill were also included in this team.

5. Yash Dhull (2022-Under-19 World Cup)

Yash Dhull

Under the captaincy of Yash Dhull, the Indian Under-19 team became champion 5 times in 2020. Team India defeated England by 4 wickets in the final match. Nishant Sandhu played an unbeaten half-century for India. As a result of his half-century, India won the title match.

Also Read: Most catches taken in a single innings of T20I

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How many times has India won the Under 19 World Cup?

India has won the Under-19 World Cup five times, in 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018, and 2022. India is the most successful team in the tournament's history.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner