Header Banner

Patna Pirates full squad for Pro Kabaddi League 2022 Season 9

By Rohit - October 14, 2022 - Last updated on Oct 14, 2022 11:50 PM
Patna Pirates full squad for Pro Kabaddi League 2022 Season 9

Image Source: Twitter/ Patna Pirates

Few teams have come close to the Patna Pirates level of success in the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) over the years. The Pirates are not only the only team to have successfully defended the title since the leagues inception in 2014, but they are also the only team to have completed a hat-trick of titles.

Patna won the league for the first time after reaching the semi-finals in the first two editions, defeating defending champions U Mumba in the final of the third edition. Six months later, in the final of the fourth edition, they defeated Jaipur Pink Panthers.

In 2017, they accomplished a rare feat in the sport by defeating newcomers Gujarat Giants (then Gujarat Fortunegiants) in the fifth seasons summit clash.

Following the hat-trick of titles, Patna experienced a brief decline. For the first time, they failed to make the playoffs in season 6, finishing fourth in Zone B, outside the qualification zone. In 2019, they would win just eight games in 22 appearances, finishing eighth in a 12-team table, their worst finish to date.

Pro Kabaddi League 2022, Season 9: Patna Pirates Full list of players bought and for what price

The Pirates have kept their ace Iranian all-rounder Mohammedreza Shadloui Chiyaneh while also signing star raider Sachin Tanwar for Rs. 81 lakh.

The Pirates have a strong defence in Shadloui and Neeraj Kumar, as well as some excellent utility players like Rohit Gulia, as they look to improve on season 8 and cement their dominance in the PKL by winning their fourth title in nine editions.

Also Read: VIVO Pro Kabaddi 2022 Schedule, Fixtures and Points Table

Here is Patna Pirates full squad for the ninth season of the Pro Kabaddi League:

Raiders: Sachin, Sushil Gulia, Vishwas S, Anand Surendra Tomar, Ranjit Venkatramana Naik, Anuj Kumar, Monu, Rohit

Defenders:Neeraj Kumar, Sunil, Thiyagarajan Yuvaraj, Naveen Sharma, Manish, Shivam Chaudhari

All-Rounders: Rohit Gulia, Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh, Sajin Chandrasekar, Abdul Insamam S, Daniel Omondi Odhiambo, Sagar Kumar

Player Category Position Bought For
Rohit Gulia A All-rounder Rs 30 Lakhs
Sachin Tanwar A Raider Rs 81 Lakhs (FBM)
Sunil B Defender Rs 21.50 Lakhs
Daniel Omondi Odhiambo (Foreign) C All-rounder Rs 10 Lakhs
Abdul Insamam S C All-rounder Rs 10 Lakhs
Shivam Chaudhari C Defender Rs 15.20 Lakhs
Anand Surendra Tomar C Raider Rs 10 Lakhs
Sagar Kumar D All-rounder Rs 6 Lakhs
Vishwas S C Raider Rs 10 Lakhs
Sagar Kumar D All-rounder Rs 6 Lakhs
Sushil Gulia C Raider Rs 10 Lakhs

Also Read: India vs England Head to Head Records in all Three Format

Here is the complete list of players retained by Patna Pirates

Player Position Category
Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh (Foreigner) All-rounder A
Sajin Chandrasekar All-rounder B
Monu Raider C
Neeraj Kumar Defender B
Rohit Raider C
Manish Defender C
Ranjit Venkatramana Naik Raider Franchisee Nominated NYP
Anuj Kumar Raider Franchisee Nominated NYP
Naveen Sharma Defender Franchisee Nominated NYP
Thiyagarajan Yuvaraj Defender Franchisee Nominated NYP

Also Read: Pakistan Squad, Team, Schedule, Where to watch - T20 Worldcup 2022

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner