Header Ad

Who can get a chance in the T20 series against Australia, Rohit and Kohli will be out

By Ravi - November 07, 2023 06:11 PM

India will host Australia in a five-match T20I series after the end of the World Cup 2023. With the senior players rested, India will once again have a second-string team. Hardik Pandya is likely to be fit for the series and will return as captain if available. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are not expected to be a part of this series.


Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal look set to retain their spots. Ruturaj led Team India in the 2023 Asian Games and will retain his spot. Yashasvi has also done well with the bat and looks set to be given another run. Rohit Sharma is unlikely to play the series and youngsters will open the innings in his absence. Shubman Gill too is expected to be rested for the series.

Middle Order

Virat Kohli should be among the players rested for the series, which means Suryakumar Yadav will bat at number three. He is the stand-in vice-captain of the T20I team and will continue in the position.

Virat and Rohit have not played any T20I since 2022 but that does not mean that their T20I career is over. When BCCI announces the team, clear information should be revealed about its future. Rinku Singh will bat in the middle order.

All Rounders

Axar Patel has proven his fitness in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and will make his return for the T20I series against Australia. Washington Sundar and Tilak Varma are expected to retain their spots. The duo could be dropped when Ravindra Jadeja makes his return for the South Africa series.

Hardik Pandya will be the only fast bowling all-rounder in the team. He has been leading India in T20I cricket since 2022 and will once again take on the role of captain. Hardik has been ruled out of the 2023 World Cup due to an ankle problem.


Yuzvendra Chahal, who was dropped from the World Cup squad, will return for the T20 series. He is a regular in the shortest format and cannot be ignored in T20Is. Kuldeep Yadav will also retain his place.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar scalped 16 wickets in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and could make his return in the team to lead the pace attack. Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar are expected to retain their spots in the team.

India Squad For Australia T20I Series

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav (Vice-Captain), Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Also Read: Longest winning streak of any team in T20I cricket

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks