Watch video: Babar Azam hits 6th T20 hundred, overtakes Virat Kohli

By Rohit - October 1, 2021 - Last updated on Oct 02, 2021 11:47 AM Watch video: Babar Azam hits 6th T20 hundred, overtakes Virat Kohli

Image Source: Getty Images

Pakistan captain Babar Azam on Thursday set a new record for the most T20 hundreds by a batsman from the country. He hit his 6th T20 hundred when playing for Central Punjab against Northen in the National T20 Cup in Rawalpindi, passing the tally of Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal who had scored 5 each.

Babar Azam also surpassed India captain Virat Kohli on the list of batters with the most T20 hundreds. Kohli has scored 5 hundred from 315 matches while Babar has 6 from 194 matches in the shortest format of the game.

Babar also joined the elite list of Rohit Sharma and Shane Watson on the list of batters with most T20 hundreds.

Batters with most T20 hundreds

Chris Gayle - 22 from 448 matches
Michael Klinger - 8 from 206 matches
David Warner - 8 from 306 matches
Aaron Finch - 8 in 324 matches
Luke Wright - 7 in 336 matches
Brendon McCullum - 7 in 370 matches
Shane Watson - 6 in 343 matches
Rohit Sharma - 6 in 353 matches
Babar Azam - 6 in 194 matches

Also Read: T20 World Cup: India has more strength than pak Mudassar Nazar

However, Babar Azams record-breaking hundred ended in vain as Central Punjab lost Match 11 of the National T20 Cup to Northern even after posting 200 on the board in 20 overs.

Babar Azam hit 3 sixes and 11 boundaries for his 63-ball 105 as he stitched a 63-run stand with fellow opener Ahmed Shehzad. Babar remained unbeaten as he and Shoaib Malik (21-ball 31) helped Central Punjab post 200.

A stunning 53-ball 91 from Haider Ali who hit 6 sixes and as many boundaries set up Northerns chase. Mohammad Nawaz (21-ball 41) and Asif Ali (14-ball 28) helped Northern gun down 201 in 19.4 overs.

Babar Azam though will be a happy man, considering he is getting the big runs in the lead up to the T20 World Cup. Pakistan will open their campaign against arch-rivals India in Dubai on October 24.

Also Read: ICC announced the schedule of T20 World Cup 2021

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner