Orange Cap Winners in IPL history from 2008 to 2024

By Akanksha - January 12, 2024 - Last updated on Jan 12, 2024 11:35 PM
Orange Cap Winners in IPL history from 2008 to 2024

For cricket players in the nation, particularly the hitters, the IPL has created new opportunities by granting them a level of freedom to play that was previously unheard of in this region of the world. After the IPL final, the top-drawer competition awards the Orange Cap to the player who scores the most runs during the league.

In the competition to become the tournament's top run-scorer and break enormous records, batters constantly engage in a fierce battle to unseat one another. Since the Orange Cap has frequently switched hands in the main event, the 16th edition of the competition has also seen a fierce battle between the batters.

The Orange Cap

Several elite cricket players have won the IPL Orange Cap, including Jos Buttler, Sachin Tendulkar, and Matthew Hayden. Remarkably, the only player to have three Orange Caps is David Warner (2015), 2017, and 2019. On the other hand, "The Universe Boss," Chris Gayle, captured two Orange Caps during his IPL tenure in 2011 and 2012.

Australia's Shaun Marsh, when 24 years old, is the only uncapped player to have won the award. He did it in 2008. The only team still without an IPL Orange Cap is the Lucknow Super Giants, who were founded in 2022.

Orange Cap Winners in IPL history from 2008 to 2024

Shubman Gill of the Gujarat Titans finally finished first in the competition with 890 runs after winning the 2023 edition of the prestigious tournament. Though he ultimately failed, he came extremely close to surpassing Virat Kohli's record of 973 runs in a single IPL season in 2016.

Captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Faf du Plessis, had another fantastic season at bat, hitting 730 runs in 14 games to finish second in the race. Devon Conway, a hitter with the Chennai Super Kings, scored 672 runs to finish third. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Virat Kohli, who scored 639 and 625 runs respectively, finished fourth and fifth.

2008 Shaun Marsh 616 KXIP
2009 Matthew Hayden 572 CSK
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618 MI
2011 Chris Gayle 608 RCB
2012 Chris Gayle 733 RCB
2013 Michael Hussey 733 CSK
2014 Robin Uthappa 660 KKR
2015 David Warner 562 SRH
2016 Virat Kohli 973 RCB
2017 David Warner 641 SRH
2018 Kane Williamson 735 SRH
2019 David Warner 692 SRH
2020 KL Rahul 670 KXIP
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad 635 CSK
2022 Jos Buttler 863 RR
2023 Shubman Gill 890 GT
2024 - - -

Also Read: MS Dhoni Back On The Cricket Field Ahead of IPL 2024

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner