Header Banner

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Pant, Dube and Samson Return

By Rohit - April 30, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 30, 2024 06:39 PM
India Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Pant, Dube and Samson Return

Rohit Sharma and selectors announced India squad for T20 World Cup 2024

The wait is over! The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally revealed India's 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 , which will be jointly hosted by the USA and West Indies starting on June 1st.

T20 World Cup 2024, India Squad

India Squad T20 world cup 2024: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj

Shubman Gill*, Rinku Singh*, Khaleel Ahmed*, and Avesh Khan* were among the reserves.

The squad, led by the experienced Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya as his deputy, sees the return of wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, all-rounder Shivam Dube, and flamboyant batsman Sanju Samson. This trio missed out on recent T20I series but impressed in the IPL, earning their spots back.

India T20 World Cup 2024 squad Breakdown

Despite a poor-run in IPL 2024, where Hardik Pandya is leading the Mumbai Indians, the BCCI has decided to back the player. Hardik Pandya will continue as the vice-captain of India's World Cup team.

Also Read: Australian Cricket Pitches Will be used in the USA for T20 World Cup 2024

Spin Dominance:

Yuzvendra Chahal, a proven performer, makes a comeback after his IPL heroics. India boasts a strong spin attack, with Chahal joining forces with the left-arm duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel, not to mention the spin-bowling all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

Pace Options:

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh form the core pace attack, with seam-bowling options coming from Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube. This provides good variety and depth in the bowling department.

Rohit-Kohli Return and Young Talent:

After a break following the 2022 World Cup, both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are back to lead the batting line-up. Youngster Yashasvi Jaiswal gets the nod as Rohit's opening partner, showcasing faith in young talent.

Reserves and Upcoming Matches:

Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan find themselves among the four standby players, pushing for a chance in the final squad. India's journey begins on June 5th against Ireland in New York, followed by matches against Pakistan, USA, and Canada.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup Schedule Schedule, Team, Venue, Time Table, Points Table

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner