England-India Test Series Indian team announced for the first 2 Tests

By Vipin - 2024-01-13 13:16:47
England-India Test Series Indian team announced for the first 2 Tests

Team India has been announced for the first 2 matches of the Test series against England. BCCI announced the team late on Friday night. Wicketkeeper Dhruv Jurel got a chance in the Test team for the first time, while fast bowler Avesh Khan managed to retain his place in the team. Injured Mohammed Shami is not part of the first 2 tests. It is believed that he will be able to make a place in the team for the last 3 tests.

Jurel played 15 Ranji matches

Uttar Pradesh wicketkeeper batsman Dhruv Jurel has played 15 first class matches. This 22 year old player has 790 runs in his name in 15 matches. These include 1 century and 5 half-centuries. Recently, Jurel was also included in the India-A squad against England Lions.

Avesh Khan has a chance to debut

Avesh Khan of Madhya Pradesh has a chance to debut. Avesh has taken 154 wickets in 39 first class matches. Avesh was selected in place of Mohammed Shami in the second test of the series against South Africa. Although he could not play the match.

The team will field with 4 spinners


The role of spinners becomes very important during Tests in India. Especially teams outside Asia have a lot of trouble playing spin. In view of this, India has also included Kuldeep Yadav along with 3 spin all-rounders in the form of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel.

Test series will be held from 25 January to 11 March

The 5 Test series between England and India is starting from 25th January. The first match will be played in Hyderabad. The second match will be played in Visakhapatnam from 2nd February, the third Test will be played in Rajkot from 15th February, the 4th Test will be played in Ranchi from 23rd February and the 5th Test will be played in Dharamshala from 7th March.

India won the last series at home 3-1


India will face a challenge in terms of WTC against England. The matches will be competitive in the 5-match series. The last Test series between India and England took place in England during August 2021. The 5 test series was drawn 2-2. At the same time, the last series between the two in India took place in February 2021, this 4-Test series was won by India 3-1.

Indian Team: Rohit Sharma (Captain)

Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah. (Vice-captain) and Avesh Khan.

Possible-11 Team

Rohit, Yashasvi, Shubman, Kohli, Shreyas, Rahul (keeper), Jadeja, Ashwin, Axar, Bumrah, Siraj.

Also Read: When does Pakistan Super League (PSL) start?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner