Header Banner

World Cup 2023: Australia defeats the Netherlands by 309 runs

By Akanksha - October 25, 2023 - Last updated on Nov 08, 2023 10:25 PM
World Cup 2023: Australia defeats the Netherlands by 309 runs

Earlier, Australia amassed a massive 399 runs in Delhi thanks to centuries from Glenn Maxwell and David Warner. The latter made a 100 in the current World Cups with the quickest speed. Even though the Netherlands had a good start, as the last overs approached, everything went terribly wrong for them.

Australia defeats the Netherlands

Australia has therefore undoubtedly made its World Cup debut with these last two games. It was the ideal game for Australia, with Glenn Maxwell rediscovering his form, Steven Smith and Marnus Labuschagne scoring runs, the bowlers claiming powerplay wickets once more, and David Warner in top form. They are still in a good position to be among the top four. Make sure to watch tomorrow's match between Sri Lanka and England, as both teams are almost at their breaking point. For now, good night!

Zampa's wickets haul

Adam Zampa is become the third player in three successive ODI World Cup matches to take four or more wickets. Before the Australian leggie, Shahid Afridi and Mohammed Shami had already accomplished it.

Glenn Maxwell hits century

David Warner was the man of the match at the top of the order for the second straight game. The left-hander scored 163 runs against Pakistan to record his second consecutive century. The performance of some of Australia's other star batsmen, however, undoubtedly would have made them happier.

After choosing to bat first, the Australians amassed a huge 399/8 score, almost securing the victory. In the middle order, Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschange both scored a half-century while Warner provided the first blow with his strokeplay. However, Glenn Maxwell's remarkable 40-ball century at the bottom of the order was the innings' high point. In the history of the men's ODI World Cup, it was the fastest century.


Australia: David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c), Max O'Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht.

Also Read: World Cup 2023: Australia defeats the Netherlands by 309 runs

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner