Header Banner

Womens Premier League auction on December 9

By Vipin - 2023-11-25 11:57:57
Womens Premier League auction on December 9

The Women's Premier League (WPL) auction will be held on December 9 in Mumbai. All its 5 teams have also released their retention list. BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) gave this information on its social media handle on Friday, 24 November. The first edition of the tournament was played in March 2023.

Gujarat Giants will enter the auction with the highest purse (Rs 5.95 crore), while Mumbai Indians will have the smallest purse (Rs 2.1 crore) among the five franchises.

Mandhana was the most expensive player last season


Smriti Mandhana became the highest earning player in the auction of the first season. He was included in their team by Royal Challengers Bangalore for Rs 3.4 crore. Apart from them, Ashley Gardner, Nate Sciver-Brunt and Beth Mooney were included, who were included in the team with the highest bid.

Gujarat released the most players

Five teams have retained a total of 60 players, including 21 foreign players, for the WPL 2024 season. A total of 29 players have been released by the teams. Out of this, Gujarat Giants released the maximum number of players (11). Gujarat Giants finished last in the last season.

Mumbai became champion in the first season

Mumbai Indians were victorious in the first season of WPL and won the title after many tough matches. The final played on 26 March was a thrilling match, where Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals and won by seven wickets with three balls to spare.

Champion got Rs 6 crore

Mumbai Indians, who won the final match, received prize money worth Rs 6 crore for winning the Women's Premier League title. Delhi Capitals, who stood second, got Rs 3 crore and UP Warriors, who stood third after losing the eliminator, got Rs 1 crore. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Giants teams had to be content without prize money.

Who all five teams retained and whom they released

Delhi Capitals (DC)


Retained players: Retained players: Elise Capecy (England), Arundhati Reddy (India), Jemimah Rodriguez (India), Jess Jonassen (India), Laura Harris, Marijn Kapp (South Africa), Meg Lanning (Australia), Minnu Mani (India). , Poonam Yadav (India), Shefali Verma (India), Radha Yadav (India), Shikha Pandey (India), Sneha Deepti (India), Tania Bhatia (India), Titas Sadhu (India).

Released Players

Aparna Mandal (India), Jasia Akhtar (India), Tara Norris (USA).

Gujarat Giants (GG)


Retained players: Ashley Gardner (Australia), Beth Mooney (Australia), Daylan Hemlata (India), Harleen Deol (India), Shabnam Shakeel (India), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Sneh Rana (India), Tanuja Kanwar (India).

Released players: Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Ashwani Kumari (India), Georgia Wareham (Australia), Kim Garth (Australia), Hurley Gala (India), Mansi Joshi (India), Monica Patel (India), Parunika Sisodia (India), Sabineni Meghna (India), Sophia Dunkley (England) and Sushma Verma (India).

Mumbai Indians (MI)


Retained players: Amanjot Kaur (India), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Chloe Tryon (South Africa), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Humaira Kazi (India), Isabelle Wong (England), Jintimani Kalita (India), Natalie Seaver (England), Pooja Vastrakar (India), Priyanka Bala (India), Saika Ishaq (India) and Yastika Bhatia (India).

Released players:

Dhara Gujjar (India), Heather Gram (Australia), Neelam Bisht (India) and Sonam Yadav (India).

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)


Retained players: Asha Shobhana (India), Disha Kasat (India), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Indrani Roy (India), Kanika Ahuja (India), Renuka Singh (India), Richa Ghosh (India), Shreyanka Patil (India), Smriti Mandhana (India) and Sophie Devine (New Zealand).

released players: Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Erin Burns (Australia), Komal Janjad (India), Meagan Shutt (Australia), Poonam Khemnar (India), Preeti Bose (India) and Sahana Pawar (India).

UP Warriors (UPW):


Alyssa Healy (Australia), Anjali Sarwani (India), Deepti Sharma (India), Grace Harris (Australia), Kiran Navagire (India), Lauren Bullock (England), Lakshmi Yadav (India), Parshvi Chopra (India), Rajeshwari Gaikwad. (India), S Yashasree (India), Shweta Sehrawat (India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Tahlia McGrath (Australia).

Released players:

Devika Vaidya (India), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa), Shivli Shinde (India) and Simran Shaikh (India).

Also Read: World Cup Final Made a Unique Record in television

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner