Header Banner

Why Rinku Singh's match-winning six off last ball won't be counted by ICC

By Vipin - 2023-11-24 11:55:57
Why Rinku Singh's match-winning six off last ball won't be counted by ICC

Rinku Singh hit a six off the last ball to win the first T20I for India against Australia when 1 run was required but it won't be counted. Here's why

The World Cup did conclude last Sunday with a heartbreak for the Indian team but excitement continued in the shortest format of the game as India's first T20I against Australia on Thursday unfolded in a thrilling finish at Visakhapatnam. After the Aussies smashed a strong score of 208/3 in 20 overs – thanks to Josh Inglis' brilliant 110 off just 50 balls – captain Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan produced brilliant half-century knocks to take the hosts close to the finishing line. However, the duo's departure propelled the Aussies back into the game, and a tight penultimate over from Nathan Ellis – in which he only conceded 6 overs – made the match exciting right at the end.

The equation was still tilted in India's favour, with the side requiring 7 off the last over. In fact, Rinku Singh smashed a four off the first ball of the over from Sean Abbott to take the equation down to 3 required off 5 balls. The left-hander failed to connect on the second ball as Abbott pulled his length, but still picked a single as Matthew Wade, the wicketkeeper, fumbled in his collection.

sky

With 2 required off 4, Axar Patel swung his bat on a length delivery but couldn't connect it properly, finding a top edge. Abbott kept his calm and took a simple catch over his shoulder to dismiss Axar, bringing spinner Ravi Bishnoi onto the strike.

On the third ball, Bishnoi missed the connection with the ball altogether as he went for a hook shot but Rinku was wary, as he began a sprint as soon as Abbott delivered the delivery. The batter regained the strike even as it meant that Bishnoi was run out at the other end.

With Arshdeep at the non-striker, Rinku smashed the penultimate delivery -- a slower ball -- towards deep midwicket. While going for a second run, Rinku made it to the crease but Arshdeep fell short of his ground at the bowler's end. India lost their third wicket in as many deliveries, but Rinku, to the dugout's relief, retained the strike.

Why Rinku Singh's last-ball six was not counted

With 1 required off the last over, Rinku did the job the most satisfying of ways as he dispatched the ball for a maximum over long on -- only for the six runs to not be counted as seconds later, the third umpire confirmed that Abbott had overstepped. It was a no-ball. Since India needed one run to win, the no-ball had already ensured the match was over before the delivery could even reach Rinku Singh. Hence, the left-hander's lovely hit down the ground for a six was neither counted in India's total nor in his personal scoresheet as it came after India already won the match.

Also Read: will rohit sharma play t20 international in 2024?

Give Your Feedback



Follow Us



Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner