Under-19 World Cup from today in South Africa

By Vipin - 2024-01-19 12:21:06
Under-19 World Cup from today in South Africa

Under-19 World Cup is starting from today in South Africa. The opening match of the tournament will be played between hosts South Africa and West Indies at the JB Marks Oval ground in Bloemfontein. The match will start at 1:30 pm Indian time.

The 50 over World Cup will be played between 16 teams at 5 venues. The final match will be held on 11 February at Willowmoor Park. There will be a total of 41 matches in the tournament. This is the 15th season of the World Cup. The tournament was initially supposed to be held in Sri Lanka, but due to the ban imposed on the board in November, ICC snatched the hosting rights from Sri Lanka and gave it to South Africa.

16 teams divided into 4 groups

under 19

The Under-19 World Cup will be held in a new format. 16 teams were divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each. 3-3 teams from each group will enter the Super-12 stage. Here 6-6 teams will be divided into 2 groups. There will be semi-final matches between the top 2 teams of these groups. The final match will be played between the winning teams on 11th February.

India's first match against Bangladesh

Today in the tournament, a match will be played between host South Africa and West Indies. Team India will start its campaign with a match against Bangladesh. The match will be played on January 20 at Megong Oval. Along with Bangladesh, Ireland and America are also in India's group. In such a situation, the team does not seem to face any problems in reaching the Super-12 stage. All India's matches in the group stage will be played at Megong Oval ground only.

India is the defending champion


In the 14 tournaments played so far, India has won the trophy a maximum of 5 times. Team India is also the defending champion of the tournament, the team won the title in 2022 by defeating England in the final. After India, Australia has won the Under-19 World Cup 3 times and Pakistan 2 times. Whereas Bangladesh, South Africa, West Indies and England have won the title once each. Top teams like Sri Lanka and New Zealand finished runner-up once each, but could never win the title.

Where can you watch the tournament

Star has the broadcasting rights of all ICC events till the year 2027. Like other ICC tournaments, the Under-19 World Cup can also be watched on Star Sports on TV and Hotstar on OTT.

ICC snatches hosting from Sri Lanka due to ban

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had snatched the hosting of the Under-19 World Cup 2024 from Sri Lanka in November. In view of the government's interference in the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC), the ICC had suspended the board on 10 November 2023.

Also Read: Is Rohit the first batsman to score 5 centuries in T20I?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner