Header Banner

Top 5 Captains With Most Losses In IPL History

By Ravi - April 4, 2023 - Last updated on Apr 04, 2023 04:07 PM
Top 5 Captains With Most Losses In IPL History

Top 5 Captains With Most Losses In IPL History, Most Losses Captain In Indian Premier League

IPL is the biggest cricket event in the world which is held in India. In a T20 tournament, a captain should always be on top with his exceptional leadership skills as the game can change in just a few balls. But only a few captains have been successful in IPL. and some didn't have a good career

Top 5 Captains With Most Losses In IPL History

1Mahela JayawardhanaPBKS,DD
2Kumar SangakaraPBKS,SRH
3Brendon McCullumKKR,GL
4Aaron FinchPune Warriors
5Kevin PetersonBangalore Royal Challengers

1. Mahela Jayawardhana


Jayawardene could not continue his success in IPL. Jayawardene has captained two IPL teams and the performance of all these teams has been pathetic. Jayawardhan captained the Punjab team in the 2010 season of IPL and the team could not perform well.

Jayawardena also captained the Delhi Daredevils for the 2012 and 2013 seasons. Both these seasons proved to be a disaster for DD. Jayawardene has achieved 10 wins and 19 losses in a total of 30 matches played as captain.

2. Kumar Sangakara


Kumar Sangakkara also has a bad history captaining IPL teams. He has captained three IPL teams. In the second season of IPL, he captained the Punjab Kings XI and managed 7 wins and 7 losses. The team missed the semi-finals on the basis of run rate. In the 2012 season, he captained the Deccan Chargers and the team finished last in the table. Sangakkara was replaced by Cameron White as the captain of SRH in 2013 after losing 4 matches in a row.

3. Brendon McCullum


McCullum is regarded as one of the most destructive batsmen and the best captain New Zealand has ever had. But his history as a captain in IPL has not been that great. McCullum has captained a total of 10 matches in 14 matches in the IPL, out of which the team won only 3. He was the captain of the KKR franchise in the 2009 season and the team finished last in the table. He also captained Gujarat Lions in one match in place of Suresh Raina and the team lost by 144 runs against Bangalore Royal Challengers.

4. Aaron Finch


Aaron Finch, one of the most talented and destructive batsmen in the history of T20 cricket, has captained the franchise Pune Warriors in the IPL. He was the captain of the team in the year 2013. He had the huge responsibility of taking the team to great success and the team had finished last in their last season. But Pune Warriors finished only second from last in this season, which was the last season that the team played in IPL

5. Kevin Peterson


One of the most celebrated cricketers in English cricket, Kevin Pietersen has had a very sad history captaining teams in the IPL. Pietersen was the most expensive player in the 2009 season playing for the Bangalore Royal Challengers team with a price tag of $1.5 million. But the team was able to win only 2 out of 6 matches played. He also captained DD in 2010, which was a very bad situation for KP. DD finished last in the points table with only one win.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner