Top 5 Best IPL Matches in the history of the tournament

By Akanksha - January 14, 2024 - Last updated on Jan 14, 2024 04:37 PM
Top 5 Best IPL Matches in the history of the tournament

As we prepare for the 16th edition of the IPL to begin next year, let us take a look back at the best moments from the previous 15 seasons. Here are the five finest IPL matches in history, from spectacular hitting exhibitions to nail-biting endings.

Top 5 Best IPL Matches in the history of the tournament

IPL 2008, Match 1: KKR vs RCB

Team Runs Wickets Overs
Kolkata Knight Riders 222 3 20
Royal Challengers Bangalore 82 10 15.1

On the first night of the IPL, Brendon McCullum demonstrated exactly how the competition will affect cricket, as anticipated by analysts. McCullum eclipsed the previous world record for most individual runs in a T20 innings with 158, including 13 maximums and 10 boundaries. Cameron White held this record with an undefeated 141 in 2006. KKR scored 222 for the loss of three wickets and defeated RCB by 140 runs. This is due to their ability to score 82 runs in 15.1 overs.

IPL 2010, Match 54: CSK vs KXIP

Team Runs Wickets Overs
Chennai Super Kings 195 4 19.4
Kings XI Punjab 192 3 20

MS Dhoni has developed a reputation as a particular 'finisher' in T20 cricket. CSK needed to win to advance to the IPL semi-finals in 2010. After 20 overs, KXIP had scored 192-3, while CSK was attempting to come back from a deficit of 27-2. CSK seemed to find it difficult at the moment.

CSK needed 16 runs to win in the last over, and the bowl was in the hands of Irfan Pathan. But Thala did it in the first four balls, hitting 18 runs off the first four deliveries and sealing CSK's place in the knockout stage. This was one of the finest IPL matches ever played.

IPL 2011, Match 70: MI vs KKR

Team Runs Wickets Overs
Mumbai Indians 178 5 20
Kolkata Knight Riders 175 7 20

The 70th IPL 2011 match between the Mumbai Indians and the Kolkata Knight Riders is widely regarded as one of the most memorable contests in IPL history. Batting first, the Knight Riders scored 175 runs in 20 overs with 7 wickets lost, which the Indians chased down with 5 wickets in hand.

People felt the Mumbai Indians would lose in the final overs of the match since they needed 40 runs in the final 2.3 overs. However, while in command, James Franklin guided the side to win with four consecutive boundaries off Lakshmipathy Balaji in the last over.

IPL 2013, Match 31: RCB vs PWI

Team Runs Wickets Overs
Royal Challengers Bangalore 263 5 20
Pune Warriors India 133 9 20

Number 4 on our list of the top IPL matches is a one-sided affair in which Chris Gayle put on a fantastic display, breaking new IPL records for the highest individual score, fastest century, and most sixes in an inning. Because of Gayle's incredible all-round effort, RCB scored the greatest team total in competition history with a final score of 175* off just 66 balls.

He also took two wickets for 5 runs, leaving little doubt about who the player of the match should be. That day, it was an out-of-this-world performance from the self-proclaimed "Universe Boss."

IPL 2017, Final: MI vs RPS

Team Runs Wickets Overs
Mumbai Indians 129 8 20
Rising Pune Supergiant 128 6 20

Rohit Sharma's club has a habit of performing admirably when the odds are stacked against them. Mumbai's tournament appeared to be finished after a 79-7 defeat. However, Krunal Pandya and Mitchell Johnson's powerful lower-order hitting helped them reach a more reasonable total of 129 runs after 20 overs.

When faced with 7 runs in the last 5 balls, Johnson stood firm, capturing back-to-back wickets of Manoj Tiwary and Steve Smith. However, RPS required 7 runs to win from 3 balls, and the umpire indicated 1 run as a bye, wiping out Johnson's hat trick. Christian smashed the following ball for two runs with six runs required from two balls remaining. The final ball now needed to score four runs. Christian and Sundar ran for two, but Dan was run out on the third. Finally, Mumbai Indians won their third IPL title.

Also Read: Orange Cap Winners in IPL history from 2008 to 2024

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner