Header Banner

Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history (2008-2024)

By Kaif - March 20, 2024 - Last updated on Mar 20, 2024 04:05 PM
Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history (2008-2024)

Indian Premier League i.e. IPL 2024 is about to start. IPL started in 2008 and a total of 17 seasons have been played till 2024. Know about which batsmen have hit the most long sixes in the history of this league. Four Indian batsmen are included in the top 10 list of those who hit the most long sixes, one of which is surprising. So let's know about the Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history (2008-2024).

Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history

Rank Year Player Team Distance (in meters)
1 2008 Albie Morkel Chennai Super Kings 125
2 2013 Praveen Kumar Kings XI Punjab 124
3 2011 Adam Gilchrist Kings XI Punjab 122
4 2010 Robin Uthappa Royal Challengers Bangalore 120
5 2013 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 119
6 2009 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab 119
7 2008 Ross Taylor Royal Challengers Bangalore 119
8 2013 Gautam Gambhir Kolkata Knight Riders 117
9 2016 Ben Cutting Sunrisers Hyderabad 117
10 2022 Liam Livingstone Punjab Kings 117

Longest Six in IPL History (2008-2024)

5. Chris Gayle - 119M

Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history

No one could stop Gayle that day. Such was his amazing hitting on the way to his incredible innings of 175* off 66 balls. He hit 17 sixes, the longest of which was 119 metres. Left-arm spinner Ali Mortaza pushed one into the slot, and Gayle's cleanest swing sent the ball over the roof of the Chinnaswamy Stadium at long-on.

4. Robin Uthappa - 120M

Top 10 longest sixes in IPL history

Wicketkeeper batsman Robin Uthappa, playing for KKR, is considered one of the explosive batsmen of India. While playing for RCB in the year 2010, Uthappa sent Dwayne Bravo's straight length ball across the long on boundary. The ball hit Uthappa's bat and fell 120 meters away.

Also Read: Fastest Balls in IPL History, Top 10 Fastest Deliveries in IPL

3. Adam Gilchrist - 122M

Longest Six in IPL History

Adam Gilchrist, who is counted among the great cricketers of Australia, holds the record of hitting the third longest six in the IPL. In the year 2011, while playing for Kings XI Punjab, Gilchrist hit a 122 meter long six off the ball of RCB bowler Charles Langeveldt.

2. Praveen Kumar - 124M

Longest Six in IPL History

Praveen Kumar, the former best swing bowler of the Indian team, used to do excellent hitting along with bowling. Praveen, who has said goodbye to cricket, while playing for Punjab Kings (earlier Kings XI Punjab), hit the second longest six in IPL history off the ball of veteran bowler Lasith Malinga in the 2011 season. He hit a 124 meter long six. Everyone was surprised to see such a shot against Malinga.

1. Albie Morkel - 125 M

Longest Six in IPL History

Albie Morkel's name comes first in the list of players who have hit the longest six in IPL. South African batsman Albie Morkel had hit a 125 meter long six off the ball of Pragyan Ojha in the year 2008. This six from his bat is the longest six in IPL history till date. Albie Morkel hit such a six on the ball of Pragyan Ojha that the ball fell outside the Chepauk Stadium. No one has been able to break this record of his till date.

Also Read: IPL Ka Baap Team Kaun Hai

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner