Top 10 Best Hockey Stadiums in India

By Ravi - January 4, 2024 - Last updated on Jan 04, 2024 06:29 PM
Top 10 Best Hockey Stadiums in India

Top 10 Best Hockey Stadiums in India

Hockey is one of the most popular sports played in India. The national game hockey has a large number of fans in the country. Additionally, the introduction of leagues like the Hockey India League has helped further increase the popularity of the game. One of the earliest sports to bring global success to India, the game of hockey essentially involves two teams, each playing with ten outfield players and a goalkeeper. The objective of the game is to hit the ball into the opponent's net with the aid of a hockey stick. The team that scores the most goals wins the match. Let's talk about the 10 best stadiums of India.

Top 10 Best Hockey Stadiums in India

S.No Hockey Stadiums
1 Mohali International Stadium
2 Birsa Munda Stadium
3 Chandigarh Stadium
4 Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium
5 Major Dhyan Chand Stadium
6 Kalinga Stadium
7 Shilaroo Hockey Stadium
8 Maulana Md. Tayabullah Stadium
9 Shaheed Bhagat Singh Stadium
10 The Kollam International Stadium

Also Read: Who will win the ICC Men T20I Cricketer of the Year award? and nominee

10. The Kollam International Hockey Stadium

 The Kollam International

Located in the city of Kollam, Kerala, the stadium was considered to be the first of its kind in Kerala with a seating capacity of over 5,000 spectators. Situated amidst the beauty of Ashtamundi Lake, the stadium has a very beautiful ambiance, and is a must visit for anyone traveling here.

9. Shaheed Bhagat Singh Stadium

 Shaheed Bhagat Singh Stadium

This stadium is a multi-purpose stadium in Firozpur, Punjab. Tourists often flock to get a glimpse of this iconic stadium. Many great Indian players like Major Dhyan Chand, Jograj Singh, Surjit Singh, Gurinder Singh and Bhagwant Singh have played here. This stadium was earlier known as Nehru Park.

8. Maulana Md. Tayabullah Hockey Stadium

Maulana Md. Tayabullah

Located in the Guwahati city of Assam, this stadium has a seating capacity of over 2,000 and has hosted many important matches in the past. The stadium was the hockey venue for the Indian National Games in 2007, the 12th South Asian Games in 2016 and the 2020 Khelo India Youth Games.

7. Shilaroo Hockey Stadium

Shilaroo Hockey Stadium

Located in Shilaru, a small village located about 55 kilometers ahead of Shimla, this hockey stadium is the highest stadium in the world situated at an altitude of more than 8000 feet. The stadium was constructed by the Sports Authority of India in 2010. In addition, the stadium is one of the most modern facilities for hockey, with synthetic turf and indoor facilities for handball, volleyball, badminton and many other sports

6. Kalinga Stadium

Kalinga Stadium

Located in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, this hockey stadium serves as a multi-purpose stadium. The stadium, with a seating capacity of over 16,000, was established in 1978 by the former Chief Minister of Odisha, late Biju Patnaik. One of the largest hockey stadiums in the country, it serves as the home base for the Kalinga Lancers in the Hockey India League. Apart from this, the hockey arena of Kalinga Stadium has claimed to host some events like Men's FIH Pro League 2020, Men's and Women's Olympic Qualifiers 2019, Hockey Champions Trophy 2014 and Men's Hockey World Cup 2018.

5. Major Dhyan Chand Stadium

Major Dhyan Chand Stadium

This stadium was known as the National Stadium, in the year 2002 its name was changed to Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium after the great personality. Located in Delhi, it was built as a multipurpose stadium by the Maharaja of Bhavnagar in 1933 and was originally intended to be a gift to Delhi and was named 'Irwin Amphitheater'. The stadium was renamed National Stadium before the Asian Games in 1951.

4. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Hockey Stadium

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Also known as Raipur International Stadium, it is located in Raipur, Chhattisgarh. This is the second Astroturf stadium in Chhattisgarh after Rajnandgaon International Stadium. Built in a record time of over four months, the hockey stadium was inaugurated in November 2015; It has a seating capacity of more than 4000 persons. The first match in this stadium was played between India and Australia.

3. Chandigarh Hockey Stadium

Chandigarh Hockey Stadium

Chandigarh Hockey Stadium has a seating capacity of more than 30,000 people. The stadium served as the home ground for the Chandigarh Dynamos and Chandigarh Comets in the Premier Hockey League and World Series Hockey respectively. First built in 1988, this stadium was renovated in 2007. The hockey stadium has also hosted various tournaments like Indira Gandhi International Gold Cup, Asian School Hockey etc.

2. Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium

Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium

Birsa Munda Stadium was the second venue of the 2023 Hockey World Cup. Birsa Munda Stadium has a capacity of 20,846 and is one of the largest hockey stadiums in India. It has been officially recognized by Guinness World Records in January 2023 as the world's largest fully equipped hockey arena. It has a seating capacity of over 20,000 permanent seats.

1. Mohali International Hockey Stadium

Mohali International Hockey Stadium

Mohali International Hockey Stadium. This stadium served as the home ground for Punjab Warriors during the Hockey India League. It was inaugurated in September 2013 by the then Chief Minister of Punjab, Parkash Badal Singh. Construction of the stadium started in 2011. With a seating capacity of over 13,500, the stadium's unique feature is the pink and blue AstroTurf.

Also Read: West Indies team has been announced for the series against Australia.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner