Header Banner

SRH breaks own record of the highest total in IPL history against RCB

By Akanksha - April 16, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 16, 2024 10:55 AM
SRH breaks own record of the highest total in IPL history against RCB

Making history again, the Sunrisers Hyderabad shattered their record on Monday by scoring the best total in the history of the Indian Premier League this season.

The Orange squad broke their record of 277 runs against the Mumbai Indians by scoring 287 runs against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

Remarkably, three of the eight best totals in men's T20 history have come from this year's IPL: 287-3 (tonight), 277-3 (Sunrisers Hyderabad), and 272-7 (Knight Riders, Kolkata).

Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head, the openers for the Sunrisers, got the team off to a great start by putting together a 108-run stand and putting on a full show at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The Australian opener went on to record the quickest century for the Hyderabad team and the fourth fastest in the IPL.

But Reece Topley got rid of Sharma at 34 runs to give the RCB a breakthrough.

Heinrich Klaasen maintained his power-hitting spree, scoring 67 runs in just 31 balls, including 7 sixes.

As the game came to a close, Abdul Samad was the one who kept punishing the RCB bowlers, hitting 37 runs in just 10 balls at a strike rate of 370, including 4 fours and 3 sixes.

After winning the toss, RCB captain Faf du Plessis decided to bowl against SRH. Glenn Maxwell, their hard-hitting batsman, and Mohammed Siraj, their bowler, were left off the playing eleven.

Pat Cummins, the captain of the SRH, entered the match with his team unaltered.


Royal Challengers Bengaluru: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Reece Topley, Saurav Chauhan, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Travis Head, Aiden Markram, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan.

Also Read: MS Dhoni reminds fans of the WC Six in the final over of MI vs CSK

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner