Header Banner

List of First Captain of Every Team in indian premier league (IPL)

By Ravi - March 16, 2024 - Last updated on Mar 16, 2024 05:24 PM
List of First Captain of Every Team in indian premier league (IPL)

List of First Captain of Every Team in indian premier league (IPL)

List of IPL team captains from 2008 to date. Captain is one of the most important aspects in the game of cricket, the importance of captaincy in IPL can be understood from the fact that till date only 6 captains have been able to win the IPL trophy. Rohit Sharma has the record of lifting maximum 5 IPL trophies. It is important to have a good captain for the team

1. Chennai Super Kings


Mahendra Singh Dhoni was appointed captain of Chennai Super Kings in 2008 itself and till now the team has won the title five times under his captaincy. These include the seasons of 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023. The team has played the finals a record 10 times. This time also he would like to make the team champion. Their captain MS Dhoni is a very good captain

2. Deccan Chargers

deccan chargers

Deccan Chargers team became champion in 2009. The first captain of this team was VVS Laxman. After poor performance under Laxman's captaincy in 2008, Adam Gilchrist was made the captain in 2009 and the team became champion under his captaincy. However, this team was discontinued in 2012. After this a team was formed in the name of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore


The first captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore was Rahul Dravid. The team's performance in the first season under his captaincy was not anything special. At present, the current captain of the team is Faf Duplessis, before this this team was led by Virat Kohli. This team is in search of its first title.

4. Rajasthan Royals


The first captain of Rajasthan team was Shane Warne. Under his captaincy the team became champion in the first season. Warne had led a new team to the title, which did not have many star players. However, since then the team has not been able to win a single title. The current captain of the team is Sanju Samson

5. Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings

The first captain of Punjab Kings, which has now become Kings XI Punjab, was Yuvraj Singh. In the first season, the team reached the semi-finals, where it had to face defeat at the hands of Chennai. At present the command of this franchise is in the hands of Shikhar Dhawan.

6. Delhi Daredevils/Delhi Capitals

delhi daredevils

Delhi Capitals was earlier named Delhi Daredevils. Later, due to change in its shareholding, its name was also changed. The first captain of Delhi was Virender Sehwag. Under his captaincy the team reached the semi-finals in the first season in 2008, but the team had to face defeat against Rajasthan. The current captain of the team is Rishabh Pant.

7. Kolkata Knight Riders


Sourav Ganguly is the first captain of this team which became champion in 2012 and 2014. In 2008, the team's performance under Ganguly's captaincy was very poor. At that time, there were players like Brendon McCullum and Chris Gayle in this team, yet the team remained at the bottom of the points table. Current KKR captain Shreyas Iyer and the team are looking for their third title after nine years.

8. Mumbai Indians


The first captain of Mumbai Indians was Harbhajan Singh. Till 2012 IPL, the team's performance was not anything special. After half the season of 2013, Rohit became the captain and made the team champion. Rohit was the captain from 2013 to last season. However, the team announced a new captain for this season. Now Hardik Pandya will captain the team.

9. Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Kochi team was a part of IPL for only one season in 2011. The first captain of this team was Mahela Jayawardene. In 2011, this team stood at eighth place. It was removed from 2012.

10. Pune Warriors India


This team also became a part of the league in 2011 and remained a part of it till 2013. The first captain of this team was Yuvraj Singh. In 2011, the team finished ninth out of 10 teams. At the same time, in 2012 it stood last i.e. at ninth position. In 2013 also the team finished eighth.

11. Gujarat Lions

Gujarat Lions

The first captain was Suresh Raina. The team had topped the league stage but lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier-2 in the playoffs. At the same time, in 2017, Gujarat team stood at seventh position.

12. Rising Pune Supergiants

 Rising Pune Supergiant

The other team for 2016 and 2017 was Rising Pune. Its first captain in 2016 was Mahendra Singh Dhoni. However, the team finished seventh. At the same time, in 2017, Steve Smith was made the captain by replacing Dhoni. Then the team lost to Mumbai by one run in the final.

13. Gujarat Titans

Gujarat Titans

There will again be 10 teams in IPL from 2022. Two teams, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants, participated in this league. Hardik Pandya became the first captain of Gujarat. However, after leading the team brilliantly for two seasons, he has now moved to Mumbai. Under the captaincy of Hardik, the team became champion in 2022 and runner-up in 2023. The current captain of the team is Shubman Gill. He will be seen captaining a team for the first time.

14. Lucknow Super Giants

Lucknow Super Gaints

Lucknow team also joined the league in 2022. Its first and current captain is KL Rahul. The team reached the playoffs in its only season. When Rahul got injured in the second season i.e. 2023, Krunal Pandya captained in some matches. Now that Rahul has returned fit, he will be seen taking command this year.

Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah Performance so far in IPL

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner