IPL 2023: List of Teams with Most Losses in IPL History

By Kaif - March 2, 2023 - Last updated on Mar 07, 2023 04:27 PM
IPL 2023: List of Teams with Most Losses in IPL History

IPL 2023: List of Teams with Most Losses in IPL History, Most Losses In IPL History

IPL 2023, The Indian Premier League is the most participating Cricket League and ranks sixth in all other sports franchises. There were several high-profile matches from the start of the 2008 edition of the IPL. In these matches, every team has great players who provide considerable competition to each other. Many players use this league as a platform to get a chance to play in international matches. More than 600 matches have been played in the IPL so far where every team has won or lost the matches. Let's take a look at Most Losses In IPL History.

List of Teams with Most Losses in IPL History

TeamMatchWonMost Losses
Delhi Capitals224100118
Punjab Kings21898116
Royal Challengers Bangalore227107113
Kolkata Knight Riders223113106
Mumbai Indians23112998

Most Losses In IPL History

1. Delhi Capitals - Lost=118


Image Sourrce: Delhi Capitals Twitter

Delhi Capitals topped the list of teams. The 15th edition matches of the IPL have been played by 2022 and this season Delhi Capitals have lost a total of 118 out of 224 matches. The winning percentage of this team has been 46.94. Delhi has made it to the play-off of IPL only four times (2008, 2009, 2019, 2020, and 2021). Despite this, he did not get an opportunity to win the Indian Premier League Season.

Also Read: Most catches in international cricket

2. Punjab Kings - Lost=116


Image Source: PBKS Twitter

The second IPL franchise in the list of the most match-losing team in IPL is Punjab Kings. After the winning percentage of 45.62% (which is the lowest), the team lost 116 out of 218 matches in the money-making league. Punjab has a bad habit of changing the captain again and again. In 16 IPL versions, the team has changed the captain of 17 times. In 2008, the team has reached the knock-out only once. His current captain is Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore - Lost=113


Image Sourrce: Royal Challengers Bangalore Twitter

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Delhi Capital and Punjab Kings are the third teams without winning IPL Trophy. The team led by Virat Kohli has played 227 matches and has 113 out of them. His win percentage in the Indian Premier League is 48.65. Royal Challengers Bangalore also have the highest number of 236/5 total and lowest 49 runs in IPL. He has disappointed his fans at the knock-out stage several times. RCB qualified in the IPL play-offs in 2010, 2015, 2020 and 2021.

Also Read: Most ICC Trophies as Captain

4. Kolkata Knight Riders - Lost=106


Image Sourrce Kolkata Knight Riders Twitter

Kolkata Knight Riders, one of the best franchises of the IPL, has secured fourth position in terms of the highest defeat in the IPL. The team of Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan has faced 106 defeats out of 223 matches, while their win percentage is 51.56. The KKR franchise has been the champion twice (2012 and 2014) under the leadership of former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir. Since 2014, Kolkata Knight Riders are yet to win the trophy.

5. Mumbai Indians - Lost=98


Image Sourrce: Mumbai Indians Twitter

Mumbai Indians have finished fifth in terms of losing the most matches in the IPL. Rohit Sharma led the team in 231 matches and 98 of them lost, they have won 129 matches which has the highest number of matches won in IPL history. Mumbai India has been the most perfect team with players like Pollard, Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Lasith Malinga. He has won editions in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule, Groups, Venue

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner