Header Banner

Most ICC Trophies as Captain: Meg Lanning becomes captain with most trophy wins

By Kaif - February 27, 2023 - Last updated on Feb 27, 2023 01:13 PM
Most ICC Trophies as Captain: Meg Lanning becomes captain with most trophy wins

Most ICC Trophies as Captain, Meg Lanning becomes captain with the most ICC trophy wins

Australian captain Meg Lanning now has the most (ICC) trophies as a captain in the history of cricket.

Most ICC Trophies as Captain

CaptainMost ICC Trophies
Meg Lanning5 Trophies
Ricky Ponting4 Trophies
MS Dhoni3 Trophies
Daren Sammy2 Trophies
Clive Lloyd2 Trophies

List of Most ICC Trophy Winning Captains

Meg Lanning - 5 ICC Trophies

Meg Lanning

Australia's women's cricket team has once again won the World Cup title. Australia won by 19 runs under the leadership of Mag Lanning in the final match against South Africa in 2023 t20 world cup Cape Town. This is Australia's sixth T20 World Cup, so far only 8 World Cups have been organized.

The credit for this success of Australia is being given to Captain Mag Lanning, under whose leadership the team has won 5 World Cups. These include four T20 World Cups and one ODI World Cup. Mag Lanning has 5 ICC trophies

Also Read: Most hundreds in international cricket, Top 10 Cricketers with Most Century

Ricky Ponting - 4 ICC Trophies

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting, the best captain of the Australian team and the best captain of the world, has a great record as captain. Ricky Ponting has won 4 ICC trophies in international cricket while captaining the Australian team. Ricky Ponting has captained the Australia International Cricket Team in 77 matches in Test cricket, 230 matches in ODI cricket and 17 matches in T20 cricket. During this period, Ricky Ponting has a win percentage of 62 in Test cricket and 75% in ODI cricket.

MS Dhoni - 3 ICC Trophies

MS Dhoni

If the name of the most successful captains of the world is taken after Ricky Ponting, then Mahendra Singh Dhoni's name is taken at number two. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won three ICC Trophy titles to the Indian team as captain. For the first time, Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the T20 World Cup title in the year 2007, the ODI Cup title for the second time in the year 2011 and for the third time Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the ICC Champions Trophy title held in England in the year 2017.

Also Read: Most Centuries In International T20 Cricket By A Team

Daren Sammy - 2 ICC Trophies

Daren Sammy

Darren Sammy, former veteran all-rounder player of the West Indies cricket team, is also named in the list of legendary and great captains. Darren Sammy led the West Indies team to the 2012 and 2016 T20 World Cup titles. At that time, Darren Sammy was the regular captain of the West Indies team. The performance of West Indies team captain Darren Sammy in both these T20 World Cups was excellent. Darren Sammy announced his retirement from international cricket soon after the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Clive Lloyd - 2 ICC Trophies

Clive Lloyd

Clive Lloyd who was the former captain and best player of the West Indies cricket team. Clive Lloyd led the West Indies cricket team to the 1975 and 1979 ODI World Cup titles. Clive Lloyd led the West Indies team to consecutive World Cup titles. Clive Lloyd led his team to victory during the 1975 World Cup, playing a brilliant inning of 102 runs for his team in the final match.

Also Read: History of Indian Womens Cricket Team, Captains and Other Records

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner