Header Banner

Former Umpire Simon Taufel puts end to dead-ball controversy

By Rohit - October 25, 2022 - Last updated on Oct 25, 2022 08:22 AM
Former Umpire Simon Taufel puts end to dead-ball controversy

Image Source: Twitter/ICC/BCCI In Frame- Simon Taufel & Virat Kohli

Can a batter take runs off a free hit despite being bowled?, according to former Australian umpire Simon Taufel. Why was Team India given three byes after Virat Kohli was clean up on a free hit? After Indias thrilling win over Pakistan at the ICC World T20 2022 on Sunday, former Australian umpire Simon Taufel delivered his verdict to end the never-ending debate about the dead-ball controversy. Kohlis magnificent knock fashioned Indias stunning four-wicket win over Babar Azam-led Pakistan in their T20 World Cup opener at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Can a batter take runs off a free hit despite being bowled?, according to former Australian umpire Simon Taufel. Why was Team India given three byes after Virat Kohli was clean up on a free hit? After Indias thrilling win over Pakistan at the ICC World T20 2022 on Sunday, former Australian umpire Simon Taufel delivered his verdict to end the never-ending debate about the dead-ball controversy. Kohlis magnificent knock fashioned Indias stunning four-wicket win over Babar Azam-led Pakistan in their T20 World Cup opener at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Also Read: IND vs PAK T20 World Cup History, IND vs PAK Head to Head

The former Australian umpire shared the ICCs playing condition and explained why match umpires made the right decision in his verdict on the dead-ball controversy. "The umpire made the correct call by signalling Byes after the batters ran three after the ball hit the stumps and rolled down to third man." For a free hit, the striker cannot be out bowled, and thus the ball is NOT dead on hitting the stumps - the ball is still in play, and all conditions under the Bye Laws are met," he added.

Tasked with completing Indias emphatic run-chase, batting legend Kohli smoked a massive six off Pakistan bowler Mohammad Nawaz on the fourth ball of the final over. Pakistan captain Babar was stunned after umpire Rod Tucker signalled a no-ball while square leg umpire Marais Erasmus remained silent.

Also Read: IND vs PAK Dream11 Prediction, Probable Playing 11, Fantasy Cricket winning tips, Live Match Score, and Pitch Report

In an unexpected turn of events, Kohli was bowled on a free hit after Nawaz conceded one run by bowling a wide. After being bowled, Kohli still managed to sneak three runs with Dinesh Karthik, sparking a heated debate among Pakistani players and match officials. Despite the protests, India was given three runs, paving the way for Kohlis team to seal a dramatic win over Pakistan in the final-over thriller at the MCG.

Ravichandran Ashwin hit the winning run for India, while Kohli remained unbeaten on 82 off 53 balls as India defeated their traditional rivals by four wickets. Former Indian captain Virat Kohli was also named Player of the Match for his batting display against Pakistan. On Thursday, Team India will face the Netherlands in their second Super 12 match of the World Cup.

Also Read: IND vs PAK - How to watch IND vs PAK match for free

Give Your Feedback



Follow Us



Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

TheTopBookies