Brisbane Heat won BBL-13 Title

By Vipin - 2024-01-25 11:35:07
Brisbane Heat won BBL-13 Title

Brisbane Heat has won the title of the 13th season of the Big Bash League. The team defeated the home team Sydney Sixers by 54 runs in the final played in Sydney on Wednesday. Bisben's left arm pacer Spencer Johnson, who took 4 wickets, was the player of the match. Batting first at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Brisbane scored 166 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, Sydney team was limited to a score of 112 runs in 17.3 overs.

Josh Brown hits fifty

On Wednesday, the Sixers won the toss and chose to bowl first. Brisbane, who came to bat first, had a bad start. The team lost the wicket of Jimmy Pearson in the very first over. From here captain Nathan McSweeney made a partnership of 85 runs with Josh Brown. McSweeney was out after scoring 33 runs. Brown still stood at one end, scoring 53 runs and giving the team a strong start.

Renshaw's aggressive innings took him beyond 160


Matt Renshaw took charge of Brisbane after the first 3 wickets fell. He made a partnership of 57 runs with Max Bryant. Bryant was out after scoring 29 runs in 19 balls. After him, Paul Walter was out after scoring 6 runs, while Michael Neser and Xavier Bartlett could not even open the account.

Renshaw stayed till the end, scoring 40 runs on 22 balls and taking the team's score to 166. Shaun Abbott took 4 wickets from Sixers. Steve O'Keefe and Ben Dwarshus got 1 wicket each, while 2 batsmen were run out.

Sixers innings fell apart from the beginning

Sydney Sixers, who set out to chase the target of 167 runs, also had a bad start. The team lost the wicket of Daniel Hughes in the first over. He could score only 1 run. After him, Jack Edwards was out after scoring 16 runs, Josh Phillippe 2, Marcus Stoinis 25 and Joel Davis 15 runs. Jordan Silk and Ben Dwarshus could not even open their account.

Johnson took 4 wickets


After losing 7 wickets at the score of 85 runs, Shaun Abbott took the team beyond 100 runs. But he too was out after scoring 16 runs in 11 balls. Todd Murphy supported him by scoring 8 runs. But in front of him, Steve O'Keefe was out without opening the account and the team could score only 112 runs. The team was all out 15 balls before the end of the innings. Brisbane won the final by 54 runs.

Spencer Johns of Bisben took 4 wickets. Xavier Bartlett and Mitchell Swepson got 2 wickets each, while Michael Neser and Paul Walter took one wicket each.

Brisbane won the title after 11 years

Brisbane Heat became champions of BBL for the second time. The Team won its first title 11 years ago in 2012-13. Then the team defeated Perth Scorchers in the final by 34 runs. Sydney Sixers missed out on winning the title for the fourth time, the team has been champions in 2011, 2019 and 2020.

Perth Scorchers has won the BBL title the maximum number of times, 5 times. Whereas Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades have become champions once each. Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars could not win the title till date.

Also Read: Who will replace Virat Kohli against England?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner