In this match, Mathews came to bat in the 25th over of the Sri Lankan innings. When he was not ready to face the ball for two minutes, Bangladesh appealed for time out against him and he had to go back. So was this decision right or not? Did Matthews have five more seconds, see with proof
A big controversy emerged in the World Cup match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Lankan batsman Angelo Mathews was declared time out at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Monday (November 6). Sadira Samarawickrama was out on the second ball of the 25th over of the Sri Lankan innings. After him Angelo Mathews came to bat. When Mathews came to the pitch, he brought the wrong helmet. He asked the substitute player to bring another helmet. Due to this, the umpire and Bangladeshi players had to wait for a long time. He could not take the strike within the stipulated time. Shakib appealed for time out. The umpire gave Mathews out.
Sri Lanka's experienced all-rounder Angelo Mathews became the first player to be timed out in international cricket. Mathews believes that he was given out wrongly and he will present his point by presenting evidence of this.
The Sri Lankan cricketer has presented the evidence on his official X (Twitter) account. It is seen that Mathews had 5 seconds left and on the appeal of Bangladeshi captain Shakib Al Hasan, he was declared wrongly out.
The ICC made a post with the caption, "Mathews and Shakib react to the oft-discussed timed-out wicket." To this, Angelo Mathews replied, "The fourth umpire is wrong here." The video evidence shows that I still had five seconds left after the helmet was handed over. Can the fourth umpire improve it? I mean, safety is paramount because I cannot face a bowler without a helmet.
After this, Mathews gave another reply, presenting evidence with photographs. Mathews shared two photos, the first of which shows the catch being taken at the time of 15:48:50:16. When the strap of Mathews' helmet broke, the time was 15:50:45:14. It is clear from this that Mathews had five seconds left. Matthews wrote the caption, "Proof!" The time when the catch was taken and the time when the helmet strap broke.
According to the Mirilibon Cricket Club, which makes the rules of cricket, after the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batsman, the incoming batsman must be ready to play the ball within three minutes. If this does not happen then the incoming batsman will be time out. At the same time, according to the rules of ODI World Cup 2023, after the fall of the wicket, the new batsman has to play the ball within two minutes.
Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly was also out in a similar manner in the match against South Africa. However, then South African captain Graeme Smith withdrew his appeal and Ganguly continued playing further. In this match, Shakib Al Hasan did not withdraw his appeal and Mathews became the first player to be timed out in international cricket.