Header Banner

West Indies announced squad for T20 World Cup 2024

By Ravi - May 4, 2024 - Last updated on May 04, 2024 04:15 PM
West Indies announced squad for T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies announced squad for T20 World Cup 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024 will be played from June 1 to June 29 in the USA and the Caribbean. West Indies are two-time champions of this tournament and will be looking to add another title to their trophy cabinet.

Two-time world champions West Indies have announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. West Indies is the co-host of the tournament which will be played from June 1 to June 29 in the USA and the Caribbean. Rovman Powell will lead the team.

rovman powell

Shamar Joseph has been included in the squad, along with the return of Shimron Hetmyer, who was not part of the T20 series against Australia. However, the name of Kyle Mayers is not in the team, who was part of the series against Australia.

West Indies

West Indies has not released any list of reserve players for the tournament. West Indies are the tenth team to announce their squad for the global showpiece tournament. Among the big teams, India, New Zealand, England, Australia and South Africa have announced their teams for the tournament. CWI announced its squad during a press conference in Barbados. The board's chief selector Desmond Haynes and head coach Darren Sammy were present at the press conference.

West Indies have won the T20 World Cup twice in 2012 and 2016. They were the first team to win the prestigious title twice, before England won their second T20 World Cup title in 2022. However, the Windies missed out on being a part of the main stage of the last edition of the 20-over tournament in Australia. They were eliminated in the main stage and could not make it to the Super 12 stage of the tournament.

west indies

The Windies have been placed in Group C along with Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda in the 2024 World Cup. They begin their campaign against PNG in Guyana on June 2. Teams are allowed to make changes to their squad till May 25.

West Indies squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Moti, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.

T20 World Cup Group

  • Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, The USA
  • Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
  • Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
  • Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Umpires Announced, Who Will Officiate Ind vs Pak?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner