Header Banner

Watch Video: ICC Passes Verdict on Worlds Most Controversial Catch

By Rohit - January 2, 2023 - Last updated on Jan 02, 2023 10:18 PM
Watch Video: ICC Passes Verdict on Worlds Most Controversial Catch

On Sunday, an odd occurrence occurred during a game of cricket when Australias Michael Neser made one of the most incredible catches on the boundary rope. The amazing events had place during a Big Bash League game between Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat. Jordan Silk launched a lofted shot toward long-off with the former team needing 26 to win off the final 11 balls. The ball was collected and thrown into the air by Neser, who was stationed there, before he crossed the boundary line. When the ball crossed the line, Neser—who was by this point outside the line—jumped and flung the ball back into the air to keep it in play, which led to an entirely unexpected occurrence.

When Brisbane Heat defeated Sydney Sixers by 15 runs in their Big Bash League (BBL) match on Sunday in Brisbane, Michael Neser stole the show. In addition to his three-wicket haul during Sydneys pursuit, he also finished a brilliant but contentious catch to return Jordan Silk to the dugout in the 19th over. Brisbane scored 224 for five in its first 20 overs thanks to Nathan McSweeneys 84 runs off 51 deliveries. Josh Brown managed a half-century in the meanwhile. For Sydney, Ben Dwarshuis, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, and Dan Christian each claimed one wicket.

Also Read: Best Dream11 Prediction Telegram channel

Sydney was bowled out for 209 runs after setting a goal of 225 runs. During the run pursuit, it appeared for a brief moment that the Sixers, led by Silk, would succeed in reaching the goal. Silk was dismissed in the 19th over after scoring 41 runs off 23 balls, including three fours and two sixes, thanks to Nesers crucial match-winning catch.

obtaining a complete delivery and leaving. To the left of long-off, Silk smashed the ball. Neser dashed there, sprang, took the catch with both hands extended, and only then did he realise he was going over the ropes. Then he attempted to throw it up, but he ultimately did so over the fence. He jumped again, catching it this time before tossing it back into the game. Replays revealed that the catch was clean as a whistle, making it a crucial moment as Sydney was 199 for 8 in the chase after 18.2 overs. The catch was reported upstairs.

Also Read: How to win money from Possible 11

Even while the attempt received praise from many, several fans and experts questioned if the catch was legal, which sparked a lively discussion. The ICC issued their ruling in an effort to put a stop to the uproar and decided that the "Law 19.5.2 states: "A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary."

"It is important to note that as long as the fielders first touch of the ball is inside the boundary line, they are allowed to finish the catch however they like, provided their feet are not grounded with the ball over the boundary.

"Neser’s initial contact with the ball, the timing of his jump and the eventual catch were all within the laws of the game, the batter was correctly declared out", the ICC further added.

Also Read: Best Online Cricket Betting Sites In India

Give Your Feedback



Follow Us



Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner