Header Banner

Top 5 lowest scores in ipl

By Ravi - March 27, 2023 - Last updated on Mar 27, 2023 04:01 PM
Top 5 lowest scores in ipl

Top 5 lowest scores in ipl:Today we will talk about the Indian Premier League, which has been everyone's favorite league for years, in this some teams have scored very high scores and some teams have scored very low scores. Today we will talk about the low scoring teams.

Top 5 lowest scores in ipl

S. No. Teems Score Opposition Venue Match Date
1 Royal Challengers Bangalore 49 Kolkata Knight Riders Eden Gardens, Kolkata April 23, 2017
2 Rajasthan Royals 58 Royal Challengers Bangalore Newlands, Cape Town April 18, 2009
3 Delhi Daredevils 66 Mumbai Indians Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi May 6, 2017
4 Delhi Daredevils 67 Kings XI Punjab PCA IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali April 30, 2017
5 Kolkata Knight Riders 67 Mumbai Indians Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai May 16, 2008

Top 5 lowest scores in ipl

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore


There are some quirky cricket matches and then there is the match between RCB and KKR at Eden Gardens from 2017. The match started with Sunil Narine dismissing his compatriot Samuel Badree. Narine scored a 17-ball 34 to set a platform for the Knight Riders. But, RCB spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Pawan Negi shared five wickets between them to restrict the hosts.

After being at 65 for 1 after 5.3 overs, KKR had slipped to being bowled out for 131 runs only. KKR captain Gautam Gambhir went in with his pace attack to defend a low score and set attacking fields. What followed was an exhibition of top-class fast-bowling in T20 cricket. The attack had Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Woakes, Umesh Yadav and Colin de Grandhomme.

RCB was not charged for what they faced. The trio of Woakes, Coulter-Nile and de Grandhomme took three wickets each while Yadav got one wicket. In a dismal show, none of the RCB batsmen managed a double-digit score and they were bowled out for just 49 runs. Interestingly, with this, RCB held the record for the highest ever score in IPL along with the lowest ever score.

2. Rajasthan Royals


It is very rare that any IPL has done well in back to back seasons. But, Rajasthan Royals, after winning the inaugural season in 2008, started the 2009 season in the most bizarre fashion. On the opening day where two matches were supposed to be played, Rajasthan met Royal Challengers Bangalore, who had finished seventh in 2008.

Batting first, RCB didn’t get a huge total. Their newly appointed captain Kevin Pietersen scored 32 runs off 30 balls, while their former skipper Rahul Dravid played the match-defining knock of 66 runs from 48 balls. No other batter entered the double-figure mark as the Bangalore team could manage only 133 for 8 in their 20 overs.

However, what followed was not anyone’s guess. Rajasthan Royals were bowled out for just 58, as the champions of 2008 recorded the lowest ever total in the league. The record was with them until 2017. Anil Kumble bowled a memorable spell of 5 for 5 in 3.1 overs, while he got some good support from Praveen Kumar and part-timer Jesse Ryder, both of whom picked up two wickets.

3. Delhi Daredevils

delhi c

When we said that 2017 was one of the seasons where Delhi just couldn’t get their act together, we had another total to look. This match was interestingly played just a week after their loss against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings). Mumbai Indians were sent into bat by the Delhi captain Zaheer Khan.

Lendl Simmons along with his West Indian teammate Kieron Pollard made sure that Delhi was chasing a huge total when they come out to bat. Simmons made 66 runs off 43 balls, opening the innings while Pollard, batting at no.3 scored 63 runs off 35 balls. Hardik Pandya’s cameo of 29 runs from 14 balls, took Mumbai’s total to 212 for 3.

Chasing a big total, Delhi lost early wickets and never looked in control of the chase. It was 6 for 2, then 20 for 3, then 35 for 5, then 46 for 7 and eventually 66 bowled out. In a week’s time, the same time, with mostly the same players had been bowled for less than 70 twice. For Mumbai, Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma starred with the ball picking up three wickets each

4. Delhi Daredevils


Between 2012 and 2019, when they were renamed and relaunched as Delhi Capitals, the Delhi-based franchise saw some really tough seasons in the IPL. One of those seasons was 2017 one, where they once again failed to get any sort of momentum for themselves. On an evening in Mohali, Kings XI Punjab captain Glenn Maxwell won the toss and asked Delhi to bat.

Sandeep Sharma, who has over the years been a great bowler to watch in the initial six overs, had one of his best days. He swung the ball beautifully as Delhi batters struggled to get a start. He bowled four overs by giving just 20 runs and picked up four crucial wickets. His spell jolted the Delhi team and the rest was taken care of by the other bowlers of Punjab

While chasing the total of 68, Punjab’s openers Hashim Amla and Martin Guptill made sure that the match result looked worse for Delhi as they went down by 10 wickets. Guptill scored a brisk 50 runs from 27 balls, while Amla hung around him as Punjab reached the target in 7.5 overs, achieving one of the biggest wins in the league

5. Kolkata Knight Riders


The first season for the Kolkata Knight Riders doesn’t have too many memories to look back at. After Brendon McCullum scored 158 runs off 73 balls in the first match, KKR had a season, which they would rather forget. One of the major reasons why this season is a forgettable one is also because of their loss at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Mumbai captain Sachin Tendulkar won the toss and elected to bowl first on a track that should have produced a good contest to watch. However, KKR got absolutely no momentum during their innings losing wickets at regular intervals. None of their batters seemed to look set against the bowling unit of Mumbai.

Shaun Pollock (3 for 12) and Dwayne Bravo (2 for 13) were the chief architects of KKR’s slump. They were bowled out for the lowest total in that season, 67. When it came to the chase, it took Mumbai just 5.3 overs to knock off the total. Sanath Jayasuriya was at his vintage best, racing along to 48 runs off 17 balls.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner