Header Banner

The Most Memorable BGT Moments of All Time

By Ravi - 2023-04-15 15:51:36
The Most Memorable BGT Moments of All Time

The Border Gavaskar Trophy (BGT)

Named after two great cricket icons Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar, Australia and India have one of the fiercest rivalries in the history of world cricket. The Border Gavaskar Trophy has given ardent fans of cricket many tense moments, a tumultuous roller coaster of emotions, an array of sledging, infamous controversies but most importantly, it has given equal seats to the competitive game of cricket Gave an edge

The World Test Championship (WTC) : 2021 - 23 cycle reaching its closing stages ahead of the finals to be played in June this year, this BGT series to be held in India is set to be a virtual battle between the most probable WTC finals contenders, India and India. Also known as Finals. Australia. With India winning three consecutive BGT series, the most recent one by a margin of 2-1 in an overseas series in 2020-21, India will look to maintain their dominance and use home conditions to comfortably position themselves as finalists in the WTC. Will try to take advantage. 2021-23.

Australia, after thrashing South Africa at home, are determined to return the favor and beat India in India. It is going to be a tough task for the visiting team as India have not lost a Test series at home since their loss to England in 2012-13.

The Most Memorable BGT Moments

  • 1. India vs Australia, Kolkata Test 2001
  • 2. India vs Australia, Nagpur 2004
  • 3. India vs Australia, Nagpur 2008
  • 4. India vs Australia, Mohali 2010
  • 5. India vs Australia, Bengaluru 2017

Also Read: Why CSK Banned For 2 Years, Will CSK be banned from IPL again

1. India vs Australia, Kolkata Test 2001

test 2001

The Eden Gardens Test in 2001 between India and Australia will always be remembered as the best win by a team in the history of cricket. One of the on air commentators said in 1535 test matches the third team won a test after a follow on, this time taking the follow on down was huge. India was trailing 0-1 in this home series in 2000-01. India, playing their second match of the series at the Eden Gardens, were bundled out for a modest 171 in the first innings, helping Australia take a massive 274-run lead. The visitors then asked the Indians to follow-on and what happened next took the mighty Aussies by surprise.

VVS Laxman scored 281 and Rahul Dravid smashed a powerful follow-on with 180 to put the Aussies on the backfoot with a record 376-run fifth-wicket stand. Chasing 384 for victory, the Australians were bowled out for just 212 by India's bowling attack led by Harbhajan Singh, who took 13 wickets in the match: 7 in the first innings and 6 in the second.

2. India vs Australia, Nagpur 2004


The 2004 Border Gavaskar Trophy series played in India will be remembered for the comeback made by Australia after having waited 35 years for a series win in India. In Nagpur, the world of cricket witnessed an indomitable Australia which crushed India by a comprehensive margin of 342 runs. Australia started the proceedings in their first innings by scoring 398 runs with a century from Damien Martyn. In response, India could only score 185 runs. Australia had a good lead of 213 runs, but did not follow on. They declared their second innings at 329/5, leaving India with an insurmountable mountain of 542 runs to climb.

The target looked very difficult for India as the Australian bowlers were very disciplined with their line and length with Jason Gillespie (4-24) being the leader of the bowlers pack. India were bowled out for 200, giving Australia a 342-run victory as well as a series win.

3. India vs Australia, Nagpur 2008


India were leading 1-0 against Australia in the 4-match series and were brimming with confidence. In Nagpur playing the final match of the 2008–09 Border Gavaskar Trophy India batted first and scored 441 runs on the back of master blaster Sachin Tendulkar's century. The only saving grace for Australia was Jason Krejza who took 8 wickets.

Australia subsequently scored 355, with Harbhajan Singh being one of the bowlers, taking 3 wickets. India scored 295 runs with a lead of 86 runs and set a huge target of 381 runs for the visiting team. Australia never looked comfortable during the chase and were bowled out for 209, giving India a crucial 172-run victory against Australia.

4. India vs Australia, Mohali 2010


Needing to chase 216 to win the Test match at Mohali in 2010, India were trailing by 124/8 at one stage. Only the tailenders were left at the other end to put up some fight with an injured VVS Laxman, it was as hard as breathing life into a dead body. Then came Ishant Sharma who batted off 92 balls and shared a crucial 81-run partnership for the ninth wicket. He scored 31 and needed only 11 more runs to seal victory against Australia. Laxman was suffering from injury and Suresh Raina was running for him. With only one wicket remaining in the final nervous and exhilarating moments of the match, the otherwise calm Sajjan Laxman lost his temper, taking a risky single off his batting partner and runner. At the other end, No.11 Ojha, not known for his batting exploits, somehow managed to put the ball with the bat and India chased down those two runs to register a memorable win in a thrilling encounter.

After India won the match, VVS Laxman knew no bounds to his pain and ecstasy and was seen in joyous embrace congratulating his batting partner Ojha and sprinter Raina for their valiant efforts.

5. India vs Australia, Bengaluru 2017


This particular Test match will always be remembered as The Spinners Heist. India won by 75 runs in a low-scoring match against the Aussies, which was dominated by the spinners from both the ends. India chose to bat first but KL Rahul's 90 was not enough as Nathan Lyon took eight wickets in the first innings. After this, Ravindra Jadeja took six wickets in the Australian innings to bundle out the visiting team for 276 runs.

India had set Australia a modest target of 188, but the way the ball was turning, the Aussies were finding it difficult to deal with the Indian spinners. Ravichandran Ashwin picked up six wickets to see the visitors to 112 as India won by 75 runs. India eventually won the fourth Test in Dharamsala to win the series 2–1.

The first Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2022-23 between India and Australia will be played from February 9 to 13 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Nagpur. The second Test will be played in Delhi from 17 to 21 February. In a little over a week, the third Test will be played in Dharamsala from March 1-5 followed by the fourth Test in Ahmedabad from March 9-13.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner