Header Banner

Sean Abbott joins the list of fastest centuries in T20 cricket

By Kaif - May 27, 2023 - Last updated on May 27, 2023 05:43 PM
Sean Abbott joins the list of fastest centuries in T20 cricket

Image Source: Fox Cricket Twitter

Sean Abbott joins the list of fastest centuries in T20 cricket, Fastest Centuries inT20 Blast and T20 cricket

Hitting fours and sixes is common in T20 cricket. New records are made and broken every day in this format. Only strong batsmen do the work of setting new records in 20 over cricket. However, if we tell you that in the T20 format, a bowler wreaking havoc with the bat has scored a century in just 34 balls, then perhaps you will find it difficult to believe. Kangaroo bowler Sean Abbott has shown this feat in the T20 Blast tournament being played on the soil of England.

Sean Abbott joins the list of fastest centuries in T20 cricket, Sean Abbott rocked the bat while playing for Surrey in the T20 Blast tournament. When Abbott came to the crease, the team was looking in trouble after losing four wickets on the score of 64. After this, the kangaroo bowler got such a color with the bat that everyone became a fan of his stormy innings. During this stormy inning played on the soil of England, Abbott scored four fours and 11 sixes. Sean Abbott brings up his century in just 34 balls. Abbott remained unbeaten in an explosive inning of 110 runs in 41 balls, due to which Surrey's team managed to score 223 runs losing 5 wickets on the scoreboard.

Fastest Centuries in T20 Blast

Batter Balls faced Team Versus Year
Sean Abbott 34 Surrey Kent 2023
Andrew Symonds 34 Kent Middlesex 2004
Martin Guptill 35 Worcestershire Northants 2018
Scott Styris 37 Sussex Gloucestershire 2012
Dan Christian 37 Nottinghamshire Northants 2018

Sean Abbott holds the record for the joint-fastest century in T20 cricket on English soil. Prior to Abbott, Symonds scored a century in 34 balls while playing for Middlesex in England in 2004. The Kangaroo bowler has now equaled Symonds' record.

Also Read: Fastest centuries in IPL history, Top 10 Fastest centuries in IPL

sean abbott joins the list of fastest centuries in t20 cricket 1

Fox Cricket Twitter

Fastest centuries in T20 cricket

Balls taken Player Team Opponent Year
30 Chris Gayle RCB Pune Warriors 2013
32 Rishabh Pant Delhi Himachal Pradesh 2018
33 Wihan Lubbe North West Limpopo 2018
34 Andrew Symonds Kent Middlesex 2004
34 Sean Abbott Surrey Kent 2023
35 David Miller South Africa Bangladesh 2017
35 Rohit Sharma India Sri Lanka 2017
35 Louis van der Westhuizen Namibia Kenya 2011
35 Sudesh Wickramasekara Czech Republic Turkey 2019
35 Martin Guptill Worcestershire Northamptonshire 2018

Also Read: Most Centuries In International T20 Cricket By A Team

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Who has scored the fastest century in T20 cricket

The record of scoring the fastest T20 century in cricket is in the name of Chris Gayle. Scored a century against Pune Warriors playing RCB in just 30 balls

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner