Header Banner

Number of Medals India have in Athletics Championship 2023

By Vipin - 2023-08-28 17:04:26
Number of Medals India have in Athletics Championship 2023

India finished the World Athletics Championships 2023 in the Hungarian capital of Budapest with one medal, a gold and finished joint 18th in the medals table. Also known as Budapest 23, the 19th edition of the world athletics championships was held from August 19 to 27.

Tokyo Olympics champion Neeraj Chopra won India's only medal in Budapest - a gold in the men's javelin throw competition. The medal also meant Neeraj Chopra also became the first Indian athlete to become a world champion.

This was India's third medal ever at the World Athletics Championships 2023 after Anju Bobby George's long jump bronze at Paris 2003 and Neeraj's silver at Oregon 2022.

Barring Neeraj Chopra, the Indian men's 4x400m relay team also created an Asian record at the meet while Parul Chaudhary broke the national record and breached the Paris 2024 Olympics qualifying standard in the women's 3000m steeplechase event.


The 27-member Indian athletics contingent for the world athletics championships featured 23 men and four women. National record holders Avinash Sable, Jyothi Yarraji, Jeswin Aldrin and Praveen Chithravel were in the squad.

Murali Sreeshankar, Eldhose Paul, Shaili Singh, DP Manu, Annu Rani and Abdulla Aboobacker were some of the other notable members of the Indian team.

Indian athletes competed for medals in 15 events - 11 for men and four for women - at the 2023 World Athletics Championships 2023 in Budapest.

Indian team in World Athletics Championships 2023

Men: Krishan Kumar (800m), Ajay Kumar Saroj (1500), Santosh Kumar T (400mH), Avinash Sable (3000m SC), Sarvesh Anil Kushare (high jump), Jeswin Aldrin (long jump), Murali Sreeshankar (long jump), Praveen Chithravel (triple jump), Abdulla Aboobacker (triple jump), Eldhose Paul (triple jump), Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw), DP Manu (javelin throw), Kishore Jena (javelin throw), Akashdeep Singh (20km race walk), Vikash Singh (20km race walk), Paramjeet Singh Bisht (20km race walk), Ram Baboo (35km race walk), Amoj Jacob (4x400m relay), Muhammed Ajmal (4x400m relay), Muhammed Anas (4x400m relay), Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay), Arul Rajalingam (4x400m relay), Mijo Chacko Kurian (4x400m relay)

Women: Jyothi Yarraji (100mH), Parul Chaudhary (3000m SC), Shaili Singh (long jump), Annu Rani (javelin throw)

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online games
Footer Banner