Header Banner

Most T20I wins in a calendar year, India breaks Pakistan record

By Kaif - September 26, 2022 - Last updated on Sep 26, 2022 02:45 PM Most T20I wins in a calendar year, India breaks Pakistan record

Image Source: BCCI

Most T20I wins in a calendar year, India breaks Pakistans record, Most wins by an international team in a calendar year


The Indian team won the series by defeating Australia in the third T20 match played in Hyderabad. Due to rain, the second match was played for only eight overs each. But the third match was very good. Virat played a blistering inning of 63 runs in 48 balls while chasing the target in the deciding match against Australia on Sunday. During this, he hit 3 fours and 4 sixes and after taking the team to the edge of victory, returned to the pavilion on the second ball of the last over. He formed the basis for the teams victory by sharing a 62-ball 104 for the third wicket with Suryakumar Yadav.

India breaks Pakistans record

The Indian team won the Hyderabad T20 and won the series 2-1 against Australia. This is another series win of Team India under the leadership of Captain Rohit Sharma which was very special. With this, India has also overtaken Pakistan in terms of a big record. The record for most wins in a calendar year in T20 cricket is now in Indias name.

Also Read: Virat Kohli becomes the second highest run-scorer for India

Most T20I wins in a calendar year

Team India has registered a total of 21 T20 victories in the year 2022. This year India has played 29 matches, out of which 21 have won while 7 have lost. The result of one match has not come out. Pakistan had registered 20 T20 victories in a year in the year 2020, which was a record. But now this record has been made in the name of India.

Most wins by an international team in a calendar year

Pakistan 202021
Pakistan 172018
Uganda16 2021

Successful Captain of India in T20I

Rohit Sharma has now become the second most successful captain of India in T20 Internationals. Now only Mahendra Singh Dhoni is ahead of him, who is number 1 in terms of victory. Rohit Sharma has captained India in 42 matches, out of which he has won 33 and lost in 9 T20 matches. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has a record of 41 T20 wins in his name.

  • MS Dhoni - 72 matches, 41 wins, 28 losses, 1 tie, 2 NR
  • Rohit Sharma: 42 matches, 33 wins, 9 losses
  • Virat Kohli: 50 matches, 32 wins, 16 losses, 2 NR

Also Read: Why Dinesh Karthik helmet is different from other batsmen?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner