Header Banner

List of cricketers who won Arjuna Awards

By Akanksha - December 15, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 15, 2023 12:56 AM
List of cricketers who won Arjuna Awards

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in India bestows the Arjuna Award on recipients who have made notable contributions to the game of cricket internationally.

The athlete's performance during the previous four years is taken into consideration for the prize, along with "qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, and a sense of discipline."

A bronze statue of Arjuna, one of the Pandavas and a skilled archer from the Indian epic Mahabharata is given to the recipient of the Arjuna Award. The Arjuna Award winners get a diploma, a ceremonial outfit, and a 15 lakh rupee cash reward. The award is often given out on August 29 at National Sports Day.

List of cricketers who won Arjuna Awards

Twelve women have received the Arjuna Award out of the 57 cricketers who have received it so far. Former captains Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar, and Virat Kohli are some well-known individuals who have won the Arjuna Award in cricket.

First Indian cricketer to receive Arjuna Award

Salim Durani

Image Source: Twitter

Salim Durani was the first Indian cricket player to win the Arjuna Award. 1961 saw him get honours. The all-around player, who was recognized for his ability to bat hard and was a slow left-arm orthodox bowler, was born in Afghanistan. During his 29 Test matches for India, he amassed 1202 runs and claimed 75 wickets. After his performances against England in 1961–1962, when he took eight and ten wickets in Kolkata and Chennai, respectively, Durani became a cult figure.

First woman cricketer to win Arjuna Award

Shantha Rangaswamy

Image Source: Twitter

Shantha Rangaswamy was the first female cricket player to win the Arjuna Award, having done so in 1976. From 1976 until 1991, she played for India in 16 Test matches and 19 One-Day Internationals. She is also the first female cricket player to be honoured by the BCCI with a lifetime achievement award. In 1976, when playing the West Indies, the Indian women's cricket team won their first-ever Test match under her leadership. She received the Arjuna Award in the same year that this occurred.

The second-best non-century knock

Gundappa Viswanath

Image Source: Twitter

Arjuna Award winner in 1977–1978 Gundappa Viswanath made his Test debut for India against Australia in 1969 and captained the team for a short period in 1979–1980. Although India lost both of the games he captained, he received a great deal of appreciation for his achievements. At his best, Viswanath was in the mid-1970s, particularly when India played host to the powerful West Indies for a five-match Test series. Viswanath got 97 runs out of his team's total of 190 against a bowling attack that included the dreaded Andy Roberts; this innings was thought to be one of the finest by an Indian. India defeated the West Indies by 100 runs because of his innings.

Wisden 100 rated his undefeated 97 as the second-best non-century innings as well. Throughout his career, Viswanath had few challenges from Australia and the West Indies, two bowling assaults he averaged over 50 against.

The only player to score three hundred in the first three Tests

Mohammad Azharuddin

Image Source: Twitter

While Mohammad Azharuddin's off-field repertoire hasn't been very impressive, the former Indian cricket team captain was a joy to see. Azharuddin made his international debut in December 1984, hitting three hundred and one half-century in his first series against England. Azharudding played 16 Tests and 41 One-Day Internationals between 1984 and 1986, scoring four centuries and eight fifties. His record of three centuries in his first three Tests has yet to be broken.

Mithali Raj

Mithali Raj

Image Source: Twitter

Mithali Raj, the captain of India's ODI women's team, personifies everything that the national sport has to offer. Set an exemplary example, Mithali Raj received the Arjuna Award in 2003, barely five years after becoming global. Similar to Azharuddin, 16-year-old Raj began her career against Ireland ladies with a scorching undefeated hundred and proceeded to hit two half-centuries in her subsequent four games. Regarding her Test achievements, she struck an incredible 214 against the ladies of England in 2002.

Arjuna Award for Cricket 2021

shikhar dhawan

Image Source: Twitter

The Arjuna Award for cricket was granted to Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in recognition of his outstanding efforts to the Indian cricket team over the past several years, particularly in the white-ball format.

After Virat Kohli (114 innings), the Delhi-born cricketer became the second-fastest Indian to reach 5000 ODI runs (118 innings) in 2019. Shikhar Dhawan led India to a 2-1 series victory earlier this year while playing in an ODI tour of Sri Lanka, where he was captain for the first time.

The southpaw has also shown to be a reliable player for his team in cricket, amassing more than 500 runs in the previous three Indian T20 League seasons.

Sr No Name Year
1 Shikhar Dhawan 2021
2 Deepti Sharma and Ishant Sharma 2020
3 Ravindra Jadeja and Poonam Yadav 2019
4 Smriti Mandhana 2018
5 Harmanpreet Kaur and Cheteshwar Pujara 2017
6 Ajinkya Rahane 2016
7 Rohit Sharma 2015
8 Ravichandran Ashwin 2014
9 Virat Kohli 2013
10 Yuvraj Singh 2012
11 Zaheer Khan 2011
12 Jhulan Goswami 2010
13 Gautam Gambhir 2009
14 Anjum Chopra 2006
15 Anju Jain 2005
16 Mithali Raj and Harbhajan Singh 2003
17 Virender Sehwag 2002
18 VVS Laxman 2001
19 Venkatesh Prasad 2000
20 Rahul Dravid and Nayan Mongia 1998
21 Sourav Ganguly and Ajay Jadeja 1997
22 Javagal Srinath 1996
23 Anil Kumble 1995
24 Sachin Tendulkar 1994
25 Manoj Prabhakar and Kiran More 1993
26 Madan Lal 1989
27 Sandhya Agarwal and Mohammad Azharuddin 1986
28 Shubhangi Kulkarni 1985
29 Ravi Shastri 1984
30 Diana Edulji 1983
31 Mohinder Amarnath 1982
32 Dilip Vengsarkar 1981
33 Chetan Chauhan and Syed Kirmani 1980
34 Kapil Dev 1979
35 Gundappa Viswanath 1977
36 Shantha Rangaswamy 1976
37 Sunil Gavaskar 1975
38 Bhagwat Chandrasekhar and Eknath Solkar 1972
39 Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan 1971
40 Dilip Sardesai 1970
41 Bishan Singh Bedi 1969
42 Erapalli Anantharao Srinivas 1968
43 Ajit Wadekar 1967
44 Chandu Borde 1966
45 Vijay Manjrekar 1965
46 Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi 1964
47 Salim Durani 1961

Also Read: Top 5 players who RCB can target in the IPL auction in 2024

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner