Header Banner

IPL teams which doesn't exist now

By Ravi - April 12, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 12, 2024 05:40 PM
IPL teams which doesn't exist now

IPL teams which doesn't exist now

There have been IPL teams that gained popularity and then had to be scrapped The auction marked the beginning of the 17th season of the Indian Premier League and the tournament has been an exciting one – it started as an experiment in 2008 and has now become a staple of the game. Part. Has become one of the best properties. There were many ups and downs along the way, but she kept moving forward. There have been different teams that gained popularity and then had to bow out. Let's talk about those teams which were out of IPL.

1. Deccan Chargers

deccan chargers 5

Deccan Chargers was a prominent IPL team, which played in 2008 and 2012. This team played for Hyderabad, Telangana. The Hyderabad-based franchise was one of the teams that was part of the tournament when it was conceived in 2008. They finished eighth in the inaugural edition but then won the title in 2009 when the IPL was held in South Africa.

The company was dissolved under Deccan Chronicle Holdings Private Limited. Later, Sun TV Network won the bid for the Hyderabad-based franchise and it was named Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2. Gujarat Lions


Gujarat Lions is a cricket franchise based in Rajkot, Gujarat and was selected in the Indian Premier League (IPL) for only 2 editions. Rajasthan Royals were banned for two years after Gujarat Lions took part in two IPL seasons in 2016 and 2017. It was led by Suresh Raina. When Rajasthan Royals returned in 2018, they had to be disbanded.

3. Kochi Tuskers Kerala


Kochi Tuskers Kerala was an IPL team that joined the IPL in 2011. It included VVS Laxman, Mahela Jayawardene, Parthiv Patel, Ravindra Jadeja. However, this fact led to the franchise being shown the door before IPL 2012.

4. Pune Warriors India


Pune Warriors India was an IPL team that played in 2008 and 2012. This team represented Pune city of Maharashtra. Along with Kochi, Pune Warriors also started in the year 2011. It was owned by Sahara Group Sports Limited and the team played three seasons of IPL. However, they did not perform as expected and had to be disbanded due to financial disputes with the BCCI.

5. Rising Pune Supergiant


Rising Pune Supergiant was an IPL team that joined the IPL in 2016 and became a finalist in 2017. On 18 January 2016, the team name was announced as Pune Supergiant by Goenka in Kolkata and Raghu Iyer was appointed as the CEO. On 26 March 2017, the owners changed the name of the team to Rising Pune Supergiant. The team lost the 2017 IPL final against Mumbai Indians by 1 run which was the team's last game.

Also Read: Players who hit most sixes in Wankhede Stadium

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner