Header Banner

Indian Team Announced For Under-19 Men World Cup

By Ravi - December 13, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 13, 2023 01:52 PM
Indian Team Announced For Under-19 Men World Cup

Indian team announced for Under-19 Men World Cup

The Indian cricket team for the Under-19 Men's World Cup has been announced. BCCI has released the team of 15 players on Tuesday. The junior selection committee has chosen Uday Saharan as the captain. The tournament will be played between 19 January and 11 February across 5 venues in South Africa, with a total of 41 matches.


Apart from 15 selected players, 3 standby players have also been included in the Indian team. Not only this, there are also 4 extra reserve players. Reserve players will not go to South Africa with the team.

Uday Saharan will be the captain of Under-19 Men's World Cup

uday saharan

Uday Saharan of Punjab has been given the captaincy of the team. Whereas, Soumya Pandey of Madhya Pradesh will be the vice-captain of the team. The selection committee has selected talents from across the country. Of these, two are players from Maharashtra and two from Hyderabad. One player each from other states is included.

Saharan is also captaining India in the Under-19 Asia Cup, which is being played in UAE from December 8. The final of the tournament will be held on December 17.

There will be competition between 16 teams in 4 groups

This year the Under-19 World Cup will be organized in a new format. 16 teams will participate in 4 groups. The top 3 teams of the group will qualify for Super-6. In Super 6, two groups of 6 teams each will be formed. There will be a semi-final between the top two teams of both the groups and the final match will be played between the two winning countries.

Under-19 Men World Cup Teams Groups

Team Groups
India Groups A
Bangladesh Groups A
Ireland Groups A
United States America Groups A
Australia Groups B
Sri Lanka Groups B
Zimbabwe Groups B
Nimbia Groups B
England Groups C
South Africa Groups C
West Indies Groups C
Scotland Groups C
Afghanistan Groups D
Pakistan Groups D
New Zealand Groups D
Nepal Groups D

India 5 Time Champion

This tournament has been played 14 times so far, in which India is the current champion. The team will go out to save the trophy. The Indian team last won the Under-19 World Cup in 2020. India has the most number of men's under-19 titles (5). Australia has won the tournament 3 times and Pakistan 2 times. Whereas Bangladesh, South Africa, West Indies and England have won one title each. Top teams like Sri Lanka and New Zealand have been able to become runners-up only once each.

India Under-19 team for Under-19 World Cup

Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Das Priyanshu Molia, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (captain), Aravelli Avnish Rao, Soumya Kumar Pandey (VC), Murugan Abhishek, Inesh Mahajan (wk), Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, Naman Tiwari

Stand by Player: Prem Devkar, Ansh Gosain, Mohd. Aman

Reserve Player: Digvijay Patil, Jayant Goyat, P Vignesh, Kiran Chormale

Also Read: Why did the Pakistan team load the luggage in the truck?

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner