Header Banner

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2024

By Akanksha - May 26, 2024 - Last updated on May 26, 2024 05:14 PM
ICC T20 World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2024

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 will take place in the West Indies and the USA this year, from June 2 to June 29, 2024. Eight T20 World Cup editions have finished thus far. In 2022, there was a T20 World Cup, and England emerged victorious after defeating Pakistan in the championship match. The ICC Men's T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2024 is being discussed here.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2024

Every two years, the Foreign Cricket Council (ICC) hosts the ICC T20 World Cup, when several teams compete for the championship. We will discuss the ICC T20 World Cup champions from 2001 to 2024 today, along with their runner-up, player of the series, and highest run scorer.

Year Winners Runners Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Venue
2022 England Pakistan Sam Curran Virat Kohli Wanindu Hasaranga Australia
2021 Australia New Zealand Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi India
2014 Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ahsan Malik, Imran Tahir Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2007 India Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa

Country-wise T20 World Cup Winners List

Country No. of Times Winner Years
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan 1 2009
England 2 2010, 2022
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021

1. T20 World Cup 2007

T20 World Cup 2007

Image Source: Twitter

The 2007 ICC T20 World Cup was held in South Africa. It was MS Dhoni's vision that helped India win the tournament. India won the championship in a nail-biting match against Pakistan. India won the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup, creating history. India only suffered one defeat in the Super 8 encounter with New Zealand at the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup. With the victory, India signalled his presence in the international match. Shahid Afridi of Pakistan was chosen Player of the Series as his team played a solid combination in the match.

2. T20 World Cup 2009

T20 World Cup 2009

Image Source: Twitter

After finishing second in the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup, won the championship in the second edition. Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the championship match. The venue for this match was England. This was Pakistan's greatest performance, making history. Shahid Afridi was named Man of the Match for his overall effort. However, Sri Lanka performed admirably throughout the game. The series' highest run scorer and Player of the Series was Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan.

3. T20 World Cup 2010

T20 World Cup 2010

Image Source: Twitter

The winner of the ICC T20 World Cup is England. They are the first team outside of Asia to win the ICC T20 World Cup. In the decisive game, England leaves the Australian team. The 2010 ICC T20 World Cup final took place in the West Indies. Kevin Pietersen and Craig Kieswetter's efforts helped them win the title. Kieswetter was selected Player of the Series for his excellent efforts after he scored a match-winning 63 runs in the championship game.

4. T20 World Cup 2012

T20 World Cup 2012

Image Source: Twitter

West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in the title game of the 2012 T20 World Cup. The 2012 T20 World Cup final took place in Colombo. West Indies won the game thanks to Marlon Samuels' outstanding effort, which saw him score 78 runs. In contrast, Australia's Shane Watson took home the Player of the Series award for his outstanding performance throughout the competition. Sri Lankan Ajantha Mendis won the title of top wicket-taker.

Also Read: Who is The Top 10 Most Searched Cricketer on Google?

5. T20 World Cup 2014

T20 World Cup 2014

Image Source: Twitter

Sri Lanka defeated India to win the 2014 T20 World Cup, their first-ever T20 World Cup. In the last game, they won by 6 wickets over India. The 2014 T20 World Cup final was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Kumar Sangakkara set history with his undefeated 52 in the series finale. Moreover, Virat Kohli won Player of the Series and was the highest run-scorer in the competition.

6. T20 World Cup 2016

T20 World Cup 2016

Image Source: Twitter

In the title match of the 2016 T20 World Cup, West Indies defeated England. They made history by being the first side to win the T20 World Cup twice, having won the tournament in 2016. They again won the 2012 T20 World Cup. Carlos Brathwaite won the title after hitting four straight sixes in the last over of the game. Tamim Iqbal was declared the series' best run scorer, while Virat Kohli was crowned Player of the Series for his outstanding effort.

7. T20 World Cup 2021

world cup 2021

Image Source: Twitter

Australia defeated New Zealand in the final of the T20 World Cup 2021 to win their first T20 World Cup championship. Dubai hosted the T20 World Cup 2021 championship game. Australia won by eight wickets against New Zealand. Mitchell Marsh's flawless 77 helped Australia win handily. Furthermore, Australian Mitchell Marsh was selected as player of the match for his heroic effort that led his side to a historic triumph.

8. T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

Image Source: Twitter

England defeated Pakistan to win the second T20 World Cup championship in 2022. After West Indies, England became the second side to win the T20 World Cup twice. Melbourne hosted the T20 World Cup 2022 championship game. In the most recent Twenty20 World Cup match, Sam Curran won Player of the Series for his overall tournament performance in addition to being selected Player of the Match for his outstanding bowling.​

Also Read: New Zealand Squad T20 World Cup 2024, Playing 11 and Team Combination

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner