Header Banner

Did Sakshi Malik leave wrestling as soon as Sanjay Singh became the president

By Vipin - December 22, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 22, 2023 04:29 PM
Did Sakshi Malik leave wrestling as soon as Sanjay Singh became the president

Sanjay Singh, close to MP Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, became the new president of the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) on Thursday (21 December). As soon as Sanjay Singh became the Federation Chief, wrestler Sakshi Malik announced to quit wrestling. He has alleged that Sanjay Singh is Brij Bhushan's business partner.

At the same time, after his big victory, Sanjay Singh told the media that this is the victory of thousands of wrestlers of the country who have suffered losses in the last 7-8 months. When asked about politics within the federation, Sanjay said, "We will answer politics with politics and wrestling with wrestling." In the late WFI elections, Sanjay Singh's panel has easily won most of the posts. In the Indian Wrestling Federation elections held on Thursday (21 December), Sanjay Singh got 40 votes, while his rival Anita Sheoran got seven votes.

The panel of Commonwealth Games gold medalist Anita Sheoran managed to win the key post of General Secretary. For this post, former RSPB secretary Premchand Lochab defeated Darshan Lal by 27-19 votes. At the same time, Devender Singh Kadian, who runs a chain of food joints on national highways and is considered close to the performing wrestlers, claimed the post of Senior Vice President by defeating ID Nanavati by 32-15 votes.

How many posts did the candidates of Brij Bhushan camp win


Brij Bhushan camp won 13 out of 15 posts. Jai Prakash (37) of Delhi, Asit Kumar Saha (42) of West Bengal, Kartar Singh (44) of Punjab and N Phoni (38) of Manipur won the elections and captured all the four posts of Vice President.

Madhya Pradesh's new Chief Minister Mohan Yadav did not turn up for the elections, he got only five votes for Vice President. Satyapal Singh Deshwal of Uttarakhand from the Brij Bhushan camp has become the new treasurer. He defeated Dushyant Sharma of Jammu and Kashmir. Deshwal got 34 votes and Sharma got 12 votes. All five members of the executive are also from Brij Bhushan's camp.

Sakshi Malik announced to quit wrestling

Wrestler Sakshi Malik announced her retirement from wrestling during a press conference on Thursday (December 21) after Sanjay Singh, close to Brijbhushan Sharan Singh, became the WFI Chief. Many women wrestlers, including Sakshi Malik, had accused former Wrestling Federation President Brij Bhushan of sexual exploitation and staged a protest at Jantar Mantar in Delhi for several days.

On Thursday, Sakshi Malik, Bajrang Punia and Vinesh Phogat looked very emotional in front of the media. Sakshi Malik said, "...I would like to say one more thing that I fought, fought with all my heart, but if the President remains a person like Brij Bhushan, who is her business partner, if he remains in this federation, then I would have given up my wrestling. I am...'' He said that thanks to the countrymen who have supported me so much till date and have taken me to this point.

Also Read: Kolkata Knight Riders full squad after IPL 2024 auction, KKR full player List

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner