Header Banner

Ajit Agarkar's Is Now Team India's Chief Selector Confirms BCCI

By Rohit - July 4, 2023 - Last updated on Jul 05, 2023 12:04 AM
Ajit Agarkar's Is Now Team India's Chief Selector Confirms BCCI

Ajit Agarkar, the former India T20 World Cup-winning all-rounder, has been appointed as the BCCI's new chairman of selectors for men's team. Agarkar, 45, takes over the post that has been lying vacant since February following Chetan Sharma's ouster after a sting operation on him by a TV channel landed him in hot waters.

The BCCI rules mandate that the most capped Test player in the five-member committee should be named it's head. Agarkar, who played 26 Tests and 191 ODIs for India, is the most capped Test player in the current selection committee. This means that he will be the chairman of selectors, even though he hails from the West Zone, while the North Zone, which Sharma represented, is still without a selector.

Here is the full list of chairman committee

Men’s Selection Committee: Ajit Agarkar (Chairman), Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, Sridharan Sharath.

The board officials had initially found it tough to get a replacement from North Zone, but they eventually decided to appoint Agarkar as the chairman of selectors. They believe that Agarkar's experience and expertise will be invaluable in helping the Indian team succeed in the future.

Also Read: Best Online Cricket Betting Sites In India

Agarkar is a highly respected figure in Indian cricket. He is known for his sharp cricketing mind and his ability to build relationships with players. He is also a strong communicator and a good listener. These qualities will be essential in his new role as chairman of selectors.

Agarkar is a challenging appointment, but he is also an exciting one. He has the potential to make a real difference in Indian cricket. It will be interesting to see how he performs in his new role.

Two selectors from the same zone

Ajit Agarkar's appointment as the chairman of selectors for the Indian men's team marks a first in that there will now be two selectors from the same zone. Agarkar and fellow selector Salil Ankola are both from the West Zone and they also both represent the same state unit, Mumbai.

Ankola could make way for a North Zone selector in the future, according to an official. However, for now, he will be the selector on tour in the West Indies, where India will play two Tests, three ODIs, and five T20s starting July 12. The other selectors are Subroto Banerjee and Sridharan Sharath.

Also Read: Most Richest IPL Team of Indian Premier League 2023 Updated List

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

online game
online game
Footer Sticky Banner