Header Ad

Sri Lanka announces ODI and T20 team for Zimbabwe series

By Akshay - December 30, 2023 01:44 PM

Sri Lanka announces ODI and T20 team for Zimbabwe series: Sri Lanka Cricket Board has announced the team for the ODI and T20 series against Zimbabwe. While Kusal Mendis will lead the team in ODI, Wanindu Hasaranga will take command in T20. The men's selection committee led by Upul Tharanga selected two different teams for the three-match ODI and T20 series. The final team will be announced closer to the start of the series.

It is noteworthy that Kusal Mendis has the experience of captaining, but Wanindu Hasaranga has never captained the team. It is worth noting that Madins took command of the team after Dasun Shanaka got injured during the ODI World Cup.

Captained in the World Cup

Let us tell you that Madins led the team in 7 matches in the World Cup 2023, in which it won 2 matches and lost 5. Sri Lanka team remains at 8th position in the points table. Due to this, she could not qualify for the Champions Trophy to be held in the year 2025.

Aslanka becomes vice-captain

Charith Asalanka has been made the vice-captain of the team in ODI and T20. Zimbabwe will tour Sri Lanka in the coming year. The tour will start with the ODI series. The first ODI will be played on January 6, 2024 at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Sri Lanka team against Zimbabwe

ODI Team:

Kusal Mendis (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadira Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Zenith Liyange, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mahish Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Velalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dhananjay, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekara

T20I team:

Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Pathum Nissanka, Sadira Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Mahesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmanath Chameera, Dunith Velalage, Pramod Madushan, Akila Dhananjay, Jeffrey Vandersay, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjay de Silva, Kusal Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Mathisha Pathirana

Also Read: NZ vs BAN Dream11 Prediction, Team, Match-6, Fantasy Cricket Tips

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store