Header Banner
Download KheloStar

World Cup 2023: England Defeats Netherlands by 160 Runs

By Akanksha - November 8, 2023 - Last updated on Nov 09, 2023 09:41 PM
World Cup 2023: England Defeats Netherlands by 160 Runs

England defeated the Netherlands by 160 runs thanks to three-wicket hauls from Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, as well as Ben Stokes' maiden World Cup century. With the win, England moves up to seventh position for the time being and is now squarely in the running for a berth in the 2025 Champions Trophy.

Choosing to bat, England amassed 339 for 9 before coming back to dismiss the Dutch for 179 runs in 37.2 overs, preserving their chances of qualifying for the Championship Trophy. Once more, England was spared from a middle-order collapse by Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes.

While Stokes hammered an 84-ball 108, Woakes scored 51. In response, Scott Edwards (38) and Wesley Barresi (37), Sybrand Engelbrecht (33), and Teja Nidamanuru (41 not out) were the leading scorers but were unable to build on their beginnings.

England Defeats Netherlands by 160 Runs

That's Paul van Meekeren perplexed by miles and miles. The Netherlands were defeated by England by 160 runs. They have the winning margin and the points necessary to move up to seventh place. Something to cheer about in what has been a challenging competition for them.

Spinners Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid got three wickets apiece to remove the middle order and then clean sweep the tail. How England would love it if most games proceeded like this, with the spinners taking the wickets and Ben Stokes bringing up the rear with a century.

Match Highlights

  • Ben Stokes's first-ever World Cup century
  • The Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune hosted England's CWC 2023 encounter against the Netherlands when all-rounder Ben Stokes of England hit his first ODI World Cup century on Wednesday.
  • An achievement for Chris Woakes
  • At the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Wednesday, during his team's CWC 2023 encounter against Netherlands, Chris Woakes became the first player from England to reach an ODI World Cup fifty while batting at No. 8.



  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Dawid Malan
  • Joe Root
  • Ben Stokes
  • Jos Buttler (wk) (c)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Chris Woakes
  • David Willey
  • Adil Rashid
  • Mark Wood
  • Sam Curran
  • Brydon Carse
  • Harry Brook
  • Gus Atkinson


  • Wesley Barresi
  • Max O’Dowd
  • Colin Ackermann
  • Sybrand Engelbrecht
  • Scott Edwards (wk) (c)
  • Bas de Leede
  • Saqib Zulfiqar
  • Logan van Beek
  • Roelof van der Merwe
  • Aryan Dutt
  • Paul van Meekeren
  • Teja Nidamanuru
  • Vikramjit Singh
  • Ryan Klein
  • Shariz Ahmad

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Download KheloStar
Footer Banner