Header Banner

Who is the Captain of Punjab Kings (PBKS) in IPL 2024?

By Rohit - March 6, 2024 - Last updated on Mar 06, 2024 02:38 PM
Who is the Captain of Punjab Kings (PBKS) in IPL 2024?

Image: PBKS Captain in IPL 2024

Following coaching and captaincy changes made by the team administration, the Punjab Kings, who have yet to win an IPL championship, were expected to have an impact in the previous season.

Shikhar Dhawan was appointed as PBKS's new captain, and Trevor Bayliss was hired as head coach ahead of the IPL 2023 season. Despite making adjustments throughout their camp, PBKS was only able to win six of their fourteen games.

Who is the captain of Punjab Kings in IPL 2024?

In the 2024 Indian Premier League, Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Punjab Kings. He became the team's captain in 2023 and remained in that position through the 2024 campaign.

shikhar dhawan punjab kings captain

Image: Shikhar Dhawan Punjab Kings (PBKS) Captain for IPL 2024

PBKS Captains List in IPL History

Captain Year Matches
Shikhar Dhawan 2023*-2024 12
Sam Curran 2023 3 Matches
Mayank Agarwal 2021-2022 14 Matches
KL Rahul 2020-2021 27 Matches
Ravichandran Ashwin 2018-2019 28 Matches
Glenn Maxwell 2017 14 Matches
Murali Vijay 2016 8 Matches
David Miller 2016 6 Matches
Virender Sehwag 2015 1 Match
George Bailey 2014-2015 35 Matches
David Hussey 2012-2013 12 Matches
Adam Gilchrist 2011-2013 34 Matches
Mahela Jayawardene 2010 1 Match
Kumar Sangakkara 2010 13 Matches
Yuvraj Singh 2008-2009 29 Matches

Shikhar Dhawan Captaincy Records in IPL

Matches Won Lost Tied Draw NR W/L W% L%
12 4 8 0 0 0 0.50 33.33 66.66

Shikhar Dhawan has an eight wins and five defeats record as an IPL captain as of March 2024. Dhawan captained the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014, but Darren Sammy took over as captain. In 2023, Dhawan captained the Punjab Kings as well, but both teams failed to qualify for the playoffs.

IPL 2024 PBKS complete Squad with their auction price

Player Role Auction Price Nation
Shikhar Dhawan(C) Batsman INR 8.25 Crores(R) India
Prabhsimran Singh (wk) WK-Batsman INR 60 Lakhs(R) India
Jitesh Sharma (wk) WK-Batsman INR 20 lakhs (R) India
Jonny Bairstow WK-Batsman INR 6.75 Crores(R) England
Matthew Short All-rounder INR 20 lakh(R) Australia
Arshdeep Singh Bowler INR 4 Cr(R) India
Gurnoor Singh Brar Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Nathan Ellis Bowler INR 75 Lakhs(R) Australia
Harpreet Brar Bowler INR 3.80 Crores(R) India
Rahul Chahar Bowler INR 5.25 Crores(R) India
Kagiso Rabada Bowler INR 9.25 Crores(R) South Africa
Liam Livingstone All-rounder INR 11.50 Crores(R) England
Rishi Dhawan All-rounder INR 55 Lakhs(R) India
Atharva Taide All-rounder INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Sam Curran All-rounder INR 18.50 crores(R) England
Sikandar Raza All-rounder INR 50 lakh(R) Zimbabwe
Harpreet Bhatia Batsman INR 40 lakh(R) India
Vidwath Kaverappa Bowler INR 20 lakh(R) India
Shivam Singh All-rounder INR 20 lakh(R) India
Matthew Short Batsman INR 20 lakh(R) Australia

Also Read: Who is captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2024?

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Who is the captain of PBKS in IPL 2024?

Shikhar Dhawan was appointed as PBKS's new captain, and Trevor Bayliss was hired head coach ahead of the IPL 2024 season.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner