Header Banner

Most Runs in an over in IPL History

By Akanksha - April 8, 2024 - Last updated on Apr 08, 2024 06:39 PM
 Most Runs in an over in IPL History

In the last over of the Mumbai Indians' innings against the Delhi Capitals on Sunday at the Wankhede Stadium, Romario Shepherd of the Mumbai Indians single-handedly changed the outcome of the game.Thanks to his vicious assault, MI amassed an impressive 234/5 on the scoreboard after scoring an astounding 32 runs in just one over. MI eventually shut down DC to 205/8, winning by a margin of 29 runs.

Shepherd was faced with pacer Anrich Nortje's bowling, and he responded with a barrage of amazing smashes that had the Delhi Capitals bowler reeling.

Shepherd's remarkable feat of smashing 32 runs off the last over ranks as the sixth most expensive over in the history of the Indian Premier League. The MI batter joined the elite company of players who have made a significant impact with their explosive batting displays.

Top Six Most Runs in an IPL over till now

Image Source: Twitter

Runs Batsmen (Team) Bowler (Team) Venue (Year) 32 Romario Shepherd (MI) Anrich Nortje (DC) Mumbai (2024) 33 Suresh Raina (CSK) Parvinder Awana (KXIP) Mumbai (2014) 33 Manoj Tiwary/Chris Gayle (KKR) Ravi Bopara (KXIP) Kolkata (2010) 35 Pat Cummins (KKR) Daniel Sams (MI) Pune (2022) 37 Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) Harshal Patel (RCB) Mumbai (2021) 37 Chris Gayle (RCB) Prasanth Parameswaran (KTK) Bengaluru (2011)

6. Romario Shepherd (MI) - 32 runs

Romario Shepherd

Image Source: Twitter

After DC captain Rishabh Pant won the toss and elected to bowl first, MI openers Rohit Sharma (49), Ishan Kishan (42), and Romario Shepherd (42), together amassed a very respectable total in the first seven overs of the IPL 2024 match between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, which was played at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium on April 7, 2024.

However, Tim David (45* in 21 balls with two fours and four sixes) and Romario Shepherd brought the score to a close. Anrich Nortje particularly appealed to Shepherd, who scored 32 runs off his bowling in the MI innings' 20th over. With a strike rate of 390, Shepherd concluded with 39* in 10 balls after hitting two fours and four sixes from Nortje.

5. Suresh Raina (CSK) - 33 runs

Suresh Raina

Image Source: Twitter

This match took place at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium and featured Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings as the IPL 2014 season's Qualifier 2. After winning the toss, CSK's MS Dhoni decided to bowl first. Virender Sehwag's 122 in 58 balls, which included 8 sixes and 12 fours, proved to be a costly mistake as he led KXIP to 226/6 in 20 overs.

Then, with hardly any runs scored after losing their opening pair, Dwayne Smith and Faf du Plessis, CSK brought on Suresh Raina. Raina entered the game like a man possessed, smashing 87 off just 25 balls with 12 fours and 6 sixes before being run out to end his innings. However, he struck out Parwinder Awana of KXIP for 32 runs in an over during his knock. He took him for 32 runs and 33 runs in the over after hitting him for five fours, one off a no-ball, and two sixes.

4. Manoj Tiwary/Chris Gayle (KKR) - 33 runs

Manoj Tiwary Chris Gayle

Image Source: Twitter

April 4, 2010, KKR vs. KXIP at Eden Gardens, Kolkata: Chris Gayle and Manoj Tiwary collaborated for 33 runs off Ravi Bopara, with Gayle scoring 24 and Tiwary scoring 2. Ravi Bopara's over during the KKR vs. KXIP match produced pyrotechnics as Chris Gayle and Manoj Tiwary repeatedly smashed boundaries, making it one of the most memorable moments in IPL history. With the help of Tiwary, Gayle's amazing hitting spree - which included four straight sixes - produced a record-breaking 33 runs in an over. There was drama in the over as well, with two wides. IPL fans were deeply affected by this remarkable feat of batting skill, which brought attention to the thrilling unpredictability of T20 cricket.

3. Pat Cummins (KKR) - 35 runs

Pat Cummins

Image Source: Twitter

Australian all-rounder Pat Cummins broke the joint-fastest fifty in the IPL by hitting 34 runs in an over against fellow countryman Daniel Sams. Cummins, who was playing against MI in his first IPL 2022 encounter, hammered 56 runs off of 15 balls, including 35 in the 16th over.

At the beginning of the over, Cummins hit a six and four before smashing two more sixes in quick succession. Although Suryakumar Yadav caught Cummins at long-off after Sams bowled an over-waist no-ball, KKR was able to score two runs off of the unlawful delivery.

Together with KL Rahul, the Australian hit a boundary over square leg to tie the IPL record for the fastest fifty runs in just 14 balls. With four overs remaining, the 162-run chase was completed after a six over the bowler's head made it 35 runs in the over.

2. Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) - 37 runs

Ravindra Jadeja

Image Source: Twitter

This attack on Harshal Patel by Ravindra Jadeja occurred during the 19th IPL 2021 match, which took place at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium. After winning the toss, MS Dhoni decided to bat first on a surface that was a batting marvel. After 19 overs, CSK was on course for a respectable total of 154/4, with Ravindra Jadeja at the crease on 26* in 21 balls.

But Ravindra Jadeja smacked Harshal for four sixes off the first four balls in the 20th over, including one off a no-ball. After taking a double, he hit Patel for a six and four more times, scoring 36 runs off the bat, while the RCB bowler was bowled for 37 in the last over. CSK's victory on 191/4 was made possible by Jadeja's attack.

1. Chris Gayle (RCB) - 37 runs

Chris Gayle

Image Source: Twitter

This match took place in Bengaluru between Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Royal Challengers Bangalore (now known as Royal Challengers Bengaluru). After winning the toss, the KTK side elected to bat first and amassed 125/9 in 20 overs. In retaliation, KTK bowlers were pummeled by RCB openers Chris Gayle and T Dilshan during powerplay overs. Dilshan launched the attack by hitting Ramesh Powar for twenty runs in only the second over.

However, the worst was about to come when Chris Gayle took hold of Prasanth Parameswaran, a rookie player, and hit him for a total of 37 runs. Gayle then hammered him for two boundaries and four sixes, one of which came from a no-ball. Gayle amassed 44 runs in just 16 balls off the bat in the over, taking Parameswaran for 36. Ultimately, RCB won by 9 wickets with 41 balls remaining.

Also Read: Top 5 Orange Cap winners in IPL 2024 till now

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner