Header Banner

The longest winning streak in a single edition of the ODI World Cup

By Akanksha - November 7, 2023 - Last updated on Nov 07, 2023 10:15 PM
The longest winning streak in a single edition of the ODI World Cup

India defeated South Africa by 243 runs at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday to win the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 for the eighth time in a row.

It matched the Men in Blue's victory streak from the 2003 World Cup as the joint-longest winning streak in World Cup history.

In these types of events, developing a streak is essential since it gives a team momentum and confidence.

Without dropping a single match, the renowned Australian squad from the preceding ten years won the World Cup in 2003 and 2007.

The longest winning streak in a single edition of the ODI World Cup

Team Streak Length Year
Australia 11 2003
Australia 11 2007
India 8 2003
New Zealand 8 2015
India 8 2023

Let's examine the longest victory streaks in a single ODI World Cup in light of this.

  1. Australia - 11 (2003)

    australia 11 wins in single world cup 2003

    Image Source: Twitter

    The International Cricket Council (ICC) organized the eighth Cricket World Cup, which took place in 2003. From February 9 to March 23, 2003, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya served as co-hosts. The World Cup was played in Africa for the first time with this edition.

    Playing a total of 54 matches, the competition had 14 teams—the most in World Cup history at the time. The teams were split into two groups, and the top three in each group advanced to the Super Sixes stage, following the structure that was first used for the 1999 Cricket World Cup.

    Australia emerged victorious from the competition, having won all 11 of their matches and defeating India in the Wanderers Stadium final in Johannesburg. Australia is the only team to have won three World Cups. Australia has achieved the greatest winning streak in an ODI World Cup.

  2. Australia - 11 (2007)

    Australia 11 wins in single world cup 2007

    Image Source: Twitter

    The ninth Cricket World Cup, a One Day International (ODI) cricket competition, was held in the West Indies from March 13 to April 28, 2007. It was organized by the ICC. Despite a field that was larger by two countries, there were three fewer matches played overall than in the 2003 World Cup (51 total).

    The sixteen teams that competed were first split into four groups, with the top two teams from each group advancing to a "Super 8" format. Australia advanced to the semi-finals together with New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa. In the end, Australia defeated Sri Lanka to win their fourth World Cup overall and their third in a row.

    Due to their winning streak in the competition, Australia has now won 29 straight World Cup games—a run that began on May 23, 1999, during the World Cup's group stage. Australia continued their winning run of 11 World Cup games without a loss by winning the championship without losing.

  3. India - 8 (2003)

    India  8 wins in single world cup 2003

    Image Source: Twitter

    Having just returned from a catastrophic tour of New Zealand, India's 2003 Cricket World Cup campaign got off to a bad start in South Africa and Zimbabwe.

    India maintained their winning streak of eight games at the Super Six stage, playing without incident.

    For the first time since 1983, India advanced to the finals thanks to this, where they played a formidable Australian team that had won every match from the beginning.

  4. New Zealand - 8 (2015)

     New Zealand 8 wins in single world cup 2015

    Image Source: Twitter

    The 11th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup, the premier international competition in the sport, will be decided by a local derby.

    The World Cup final will feature the two greatest teams in the competition and one of the most intense rivalries in sports history because hosts Australia and New Zealand invited 12 other nations but kept the game for themselves.

    But without a doubt, New Zealand has been the side to beat in this year's competition. They defeated the Australians in Auckland to go to their first World Cup final thanks to their eight-match winning streak.

  5. India - 8 (2023)

    India  8 wins in single world cup 2023

    Image Source: Twitter

    India's performance in the World Cup was striking, as they defeated South Africa by 83 runs in 27.1 overs at the Eden Gardens, after posting a score of 326 for 5 in 50 overs. Virat Kohli scored his 49th ODI century at 101 not out, and Shreyas Iyer added 77 before Ravindra Jadeja claimed five wickets to help India defeat the Proteas, who were humiliated on Sunday.

    India tied their best-ever winning run in the 50-over competition with their eighth victory of the World Cup 2023. India has advanced to the finals in 2003 with eight victories.

    India has finished first in the group stage of a World Cup campaign for the third time in a row, having done so in 2015 and 2019.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner