Header Banner

Team India schedule for World Cup 2023

By Akanksha - June 27, 2023 - Last updated on Jun 27, 2023 10:09 PM
Team India schedule for World Cup 2023

Image Source: Twitter

The cricketing world eagerly awaits the arrival of the highly anticipated 2023 ICC ODI World Cup, which will be hosted solely by India for the first time in its history. The tournament is set to begin on October 5 and will run until November 19. The International Cricket Council (ICC) recently unveiled the official schedule, revealing thrilling clashes and mouth-watering encounters. In this blog, we will explore Team India's schedule for the World Cup, including key matchups, venues, and the significance of each game.

India's Schedule

Team India, known for its cricketing prowess and passionate fanbase, will begin their campaign with an enthralling clash against Australia, the most successful team in the history of the ODI World Cup. Let's take a closer look at India's full schedule for the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup:

Date Opponent Venue
October 8 Australia Chennai
October 11 Afghanistan Delhi
October 15 Pakistan Ahmedabad
October 19 Bangladesh Pune
October 22 New Zealand Dharamsala
October 29 England Lucknow
November 2 Qualifier 2 Mumbai
November 5 South Africa Kolkata
November 11 Qualifier 1 Bengaluru

India as Sole Hosts

India has previously co-hosted the ODI World Cup on three occasions, in 1987, 1996, and 2011. However, this time, the country has the honor of being the sole hosts of the tournament. It showcases the confidence and capability of the Indian cricket board, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), in organizing a successful and memorable event.

The Delayed Schedule Announcement

Typically, the schedule for a World Cup is announced well in advance to allow fans to plan their travel and book tickets. However, this time, the schedule faced a considerable delay due to the uncertainty of Pakistan's participation in matches against India. The ICC finally released the schedule after receiving assurances from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) regarding their participation.

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Schedule, Full List of Teams, Dates, Venues

The Host Cities

A total of ten different cities across India have been chosen to host matches during the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup. This decision aims to provide cricket fans from various regions an opportunity to witness the live action. The cities selected as venues are Chennai, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Pune, Dharamsala, Lucknow, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bengaluru, and a yet-to-be-decided city where Qualifier 2 will take place.

Qualification Process and Teams

Out of the ten participating teams, eight secured their spots through the Cricket World Cup Super League. These teams showcased their prowess and consistency in the league matches leading up to the World Cup. The remaining two teams will be determined after the conclusion of the ongoing qualifier tournament in Zimbabwe on July 9. The qualification process adds an element of suspense and anticipation to the tournament.

world cup 2023

Image Source: Twitter

In Conclusion: The 2023 ICC ODI World Cup presents a thrilling opportunity for Team India to showcase their skills and aim for glory on home soil. The schedule is packed with high-profile clashes against formidable opponents, offering fans the perfect blend of excitement and anticipation. Cricket enthusiasts around the world will be eagerly following India's journey in this prestigious tournament, hoping for a memorable performance and a shot at lifting the coveted trophy.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner