Header Banner
Download KheloStar

ODI World Cup 2023: Get Ready for Cricket's Grand Spectacle

By Anshu - 2023-10-05 13:12:04
ODI World Cup 2023: Get Ready for Cricket's Grand Spectacle

If you ask any cricket fan what he is hyper for, he will answer that the most-awaited event is closing in. Yes! The ICC World Cup 2023 is knocking on our doors. All the cricket fans worldwide are gearing up for the grand event by creating their fantasy cricket teams and eagerly waiting for their favorite teams to perform and clinch the title.

Icc World Cup 2023: The Pinnacle of Cricket

The ICC Men's Cricket World Cup stands as the zenith of cricket, revered as one of the sport's most coveted trophies. From awe-inspiring centuries to heart-stopping conclusions, the Men's ICC World Cup has witnessed cricket's most legendary occurrences, leaving unforgettable memories for global fans to cherish forever.

Here is A Brief of Its History

  1. 1975 - The inaugural tournament: The first-ever Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England. It featured eight teams, mainly from the Commonwealth nations, playing 60-over matches. The West Indies emerged as the inaugural champions by defeating Australia in the final.
  2. 1979 – The Dominance of West Indies: The West Indies repeated their success, winning the 1979 World Cup as well. This tournament saw the introduction of colored clothing and floodlights, adding a new dimension to the game.
  3. 1983 - India's triumph: The 1983 World Cup in England witnessed a historic win when India, led by Kapil Dev, defeated the mighty West Indies to claim its first-ever World Cup title.
  4. 1987 - Relocation to the Subcontinent: The World Cup moved to the Indian subcontinent in 1987, jointly hosted by India and Pakistan. Australia won their first World Cup by defeating England in the final.
  5. 1992 - Pakistan's glory: Pakistan, under the captaincy of Imran Khan, won the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. This tournament featured the round-robin format for the first time.
  6. 1996 - Sri Lanka's breakthrough: Sri Lanka emerged as the champions in a World Cup co-hosted by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. This edition introduced the concept of group stages.
  7. 1999 - Return to England: The World Cup returned to England, and Australia reclaimed the title, defeating Pakistan in the final.
  8. 2003 - Australia's hat-trick: Australia continued their dominance, securing their third consecutive World Cup title in South Africa.
  9. 2007 - West Indies Hosting: The Caribbean hosted the tournament, and Australia once again triumphed, making it four consecutive titles.
  10. 2011 - India's second triumph: India won its second World Cup, hosting the tournament with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final in Mumbai.
  11. 2015 - Australia's fifth title: Australia clinched their fifth World Cup title, co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, defeating New Zealand in the final.
  12. 2019 - England's maiden victory: In a thrilling final at Lord's, England won its first World Cup, defeating New Zealand in a dramatic Super Over.

Icc World Cup 2023 International Teams

Here Is The List Of Ten Countries That Will Play Against Each Other In The Group Stage.

  1. India
  2. Pakistan
  3. Australia
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. New Zealand
  6. Bangladesh
  7. South Africa
  8. Afghanistan
  9. Netherlands
  10. England

Fans are all set to support their favorite teams. The ICC World Cup fixture is already out.

Latest Updates on Icc World Cup 2023

Let us check how this spectacular event will be conducted in India. It will begin on 5 October and will continue till 19 November 2023. The ICC has decided to conduct the tournament in Round Robin format. Teams in each group will play against each other. The lowest-scoring teams will be knocked out of the tournament. If we closely look into the previous events, the hosting country has won the title since 2003. Who knows if India will show its miracle again and clinch its 3rd title in this championship? Here is the list of the players included in the Indian team squad.

  1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  2. Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain)
  3. Virat Kohli
  4. Ishan Kishan
  5. Shreyas Iyer
  6. Suryakumar Yadav
  7. KL Rahul
  8. Shubman Gill
  9. Ravindra Jadeja
  10. Axar Patel
  11. Jasprit Bumrah
  12. Mohd. Siraj
  13. Mohd. Shami 
  14. Kuldeep Yadav 
  15. Shardul Thakur

The final squad was made public in a press meet on 5 September. Considering this list, we can clearly conclude the batting and bowling strength of the Indian cricket team. Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, and Shreyas Iyer are the top batters. Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer will handle the middle order of this batting squad. Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul will be behind the wickets. The top all-rounders chosen for this team are Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya (VC), Shardul Thakur, and Axar Patel. The best bowlers now in the Indian team are Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Sami, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammad Siraj.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Venues

The Chosen Venues For Conducting This 46-Day World-Class Tournament Are:

  1. Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad 
  2. Eden Gardens, Kolkata 
  3. M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
  4. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 
  5. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
  6. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  7. Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium, Delhi
  8. Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  9. Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharmsala
  10. Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

The semifinals will be conducted on 15 and 16 November 2023 in Kolkata and Mumbai. The final match will be conducted on 19 November in Ahmedabad. Apart from these chosen venues for the main event, Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium (Hyderabad) and Barspara Cricket Stadium (Guwahati) have been selected for the warm-up matches. Tickets will be available very soon.

The Icc World Cup Trophy Making Rounds

The dates have been fixed. The teams are getting ready. Even the ICC World Cup Trophy is making rounds. It was launched into space, reached a height of 120,000 feet at the stratospheric level, and descended at the opening venue in Ahmedabad. The trophy tour ended on 4 September after making its last stop in South Africa.

Gear Up For The Icc World Cup With Your Fantasy Team!

Buckle up for the exclusive event of cricket history. The wait for four years is over. Make your fantasy team and watch how the players are performing. Stay tuned for the updates and support your favorite team. Watch how your team performs and cherish every moment of this spectacle!

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Download KheloStar
Footer Banner