List Of 10 Cricketers Who Won Most ICC Awards

By Akanksha - January 26, 2024 - Last updated on Jan 26, 2024 04:59 PM
List Of 10 Cricketers Who Won Most ICC Awards

Every year, the International Cricket Council presents awards to cricket players worldwide, taking into account their finest individual performances throughout the year. Any cricket player's ambition is to win both ICC honours and cricket trophies. And our own Virat Kohli outperformed all other cricket legends in international cricket by winning the most ICC Awards.

List Of 10 Cricketers Who Won Most ICC Awards

In terms of ICC Award wins, no other cricket player comes close to Virat Kohli. The list of 10 Cricket Players With the Most ICC Awards is below.

1. Virat Kohli: 10 Awards

Virat Kohli

Image Source: Twitter

With a staggering 10 ICC Awards, 5 BCCI Awards, 3 ICC Player of the Tournament Awards, and 12 ICC Player of the Match Awards, Virat Kohli is the most decorated player in cricket history. He has won the ICC ODI Player of the Year award four times in total: in 2012, in 2017, in 2018, and most recently in 2023. Virat Kohli's 21 ICC Individual Performance Awards for ODIs, which eclipse all other countries in the category of individual brilliance, demonstrate his domination and influence on the international scene.

2. Kumar Sangakkara – 4 Awards

Kumar Sangakkara

Image Source: Twitter

Four ICC Awards have been earned by former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara. He was the ICC World XI Test team's captain and wicketkeeper in 2013, and in 2011 he was voted the ICC People's Choice Award winner. From 2000 to 2015, Kumar Sangakkara played 134 Test matches for Sri Lanka, fifteen of which he captained. He participated in first-class cricket for two different teams: Surrey County Cricket Club from 2015 to 2017 and Nondescripts Cricket Club from 1997–98 to 2013–14. In addition, he played for many franchise teams. In the Central Province of Matale, he was born.

3. MS Dhoni: 4 Awards

ms dhoni

Image Source: Twitter

The greatest Indian captain, MS Dhoni, has four ICC Awards to his name during his cricket career. The ICC Spirit of Cricket Award for the Decade went to Dhoni. He was named the ICC ODI Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009. He keeps wickets and bats right-handed. Recognized as one of the most productive wicket-keeper-batsmen and leaders, he played for the Indian cricket team and captained the squad in test cricket from 2008 to 2014 as well as limited-overs games from 2007 to 2017.

4. Steve Smith: 4 Awards

Steve Smith

Image Source: Twitter

Steven Peter Devereux Smith is an Australian international cricket player who captained the country's squad in each of the sport's three formats in the past. Considered one of the greatest batsmen in sports history, he is considered the finest of the current period when it comes to Test cricket. In [4] Smith was in the Australian squads that won the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup, the 2023 ICC World Test Championship, and the Cricket World Cup in 2015 and 2023. In his professional career, Steve Smith has received four ICC Awards. Smith has been named the 2015 Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy winner (ICC Cricketer of the Year), the 2015 and 2017 ICC Test Player of the Year, and the 2011–2020 ICC Men's Test Player of the Decade.

5. Ricky Ponting: 3 Awards

Ricky Ponting

Image Source: Twitter

Former cricket player, coach, and analyst Ricky Thomas Ponting is from Australia. Admired as one of the greatest batsmen of all time, Ponting captained the Australian national team in Test cricket from 2004 to 2011 and in One Day Internationals (ODIs) from 2002 to 2011. With 220 wins in 324 matches and a winning percentage of 67.91%, Ponting holds the record for being the most successful captain in the history of international cricket. Regarding the number of international hundreds he has scored, he is ranked third among cricket players. Cricket star Ricky Ponting has won four ICC trophies (ICC Champions Trophy in 2006, ICC World Cup in 2003, ICC Champions Trophy in 2007) and three ICC honours throughout his career.

6. Mitchell Johnson: 3 Awards

Mitchell Johnson

Image Source: Twitter

Former Australian cricket player Mitchell Guy Johnson was born on November 2, 1981, and he represented his country in all facets of the sport. He bats left-handed and bowls quickly with his left arm. From 2005 to 2015, he played international cricket for Australia. One of the best fast bowlers of his generation is regarded as Johnson. Johnson won many international cricket championships with the Australian side when he was a player: the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy, the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy, the 2015 Cricket World Cup, and the 2007 Cricket World Cup. Mitchell Johnson, an Australian seamer, is the recipient of three ICC Awards: ICC Test Player of the Year (2014) and the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (ICC Cricketer of the Year) in 2009 and 2014.

7. AB De Villiers: 3 Awards

AB De Villiers

Image Source: Twitter

Former cricket player for South Africa's national team Abraham Benjamin de Villiers is currently a pundit. AB de Villiers was one of the five Wisden cricketers of the decade at the end of 2019 and was named the ICC ODI Player of the Year three times in his fifteen years of international cricket. Being the top batsman of his day, he is considered one of the greatest cricket players in the sport's history. AB De Villiers, also known as the Mr. 360, holds three ICC career accolades, including three times as the ICC ODI Player of the Year. He has played cricket for fifteen years.

8. Ryan ten Doeschate: 3 Awards

Ryan ten Doeschate

Image Source: Twitter

Born on June 30, 1980, Ryan Neil ten Doeschate is a Dutch-South African cricket coach and former player for the Netherlands national team in both Twenty20 International (T20I) and One Day International (ODI) cricket. 2008, 2010, and 2011 saw Ten Doeschate win ICC Associate Player of the Year for a record three times.

9. Pat Cummins: 2 Awards

pat cummins

Image Source: Twitter

Australian international cricket player Patrick James Cummins, who was born on May 8, 1993, is the captain of the men's national squad in both Test and One Day International cricket. He led Australia to their sixth World Cup victory in 2023 and is universally recognized as one of the greatest fast bowlers of all time in Test cricket. He's also regarded as a competent lower-order batter. In 2019 and 2023, he was named the ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year.

10. Ben Stokes: 2 Awards

ben stokes

Image Source: Twitter

English international cricket player Benjamin Andrew Stokes OBE was born on June 4, 1991. He plays for the England squad in ODIs and T20Is and captains the team during Test matches. He plays for Durham in domestic cricket and has represented his country in several Twenty20 competitions worldwide. He competed for England in the T20 World Cup in 2022 and the Cricket World Cup in 2019. In 2019 and 2022, Ben Stokes won the titles of ICC Men's Cricketer of the Year and ICC Men's Test Cricketer of the Year.

Also Read: Top 5 best moments of KFC BBL of all time

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner