Lanka Premier League (LPL) winner 2021

By Kaif - December 24, 2021 - Last updated on Dec 24, 2021 12:36 PM Lanka Premier League (LPL) winner 2021

Lanka Premier League winners list: List of all the winners and runners-up of LPL history

The second season of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) has come to an end. Jaffna Kings face Galle Gladiators in the final of the 2021 season of the Lanka Premier League. Jaffna Kings won the title match.

Lanka Premier League (LPL)

The 2021 season of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) played in Colombo and Hambantota, Sri Lanka has come to an end. The final match of the second season of the Lanka Premier League was played on Thursday 23 December. Galle Gladiators faced Jaffna Kings in the final match, in which Jaffnas team won. The first season of LPL was also won by Jaffna Kings.

Also Read: IPL 2022 auction date and time revealed

In the final match of the Lanka Premier League 2021 played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota, Jaffna Kings captain Thisara Perera won the toss and elected to bat. Openers Avishka Fernando and Rahmanullah Gurbaz got Jaffnas team off to a good start and both put on 56 runs for the first wicket in 5.2 overs. For Jaffna, Avishka scored 63 off 41 balls, Kohler Cadmore scored 57 off 41 balls, Gurbaz scored 35 off 15 balls and Shoaib Malik scored 23 runs in 11 balls.

Lanka Premier League winners list

The Lanka Premier League was started in 2020 only, so there only have been two seasons yet. It is interesting to note that the Jaffna Franchise won the title both times. Jaffna Stallions won in 2020, whereas Jaffna Kings won in 2021. And, the exciting part is that they defeated Galle Gladiators in both the finals.

Danushka Gunathilaka finished as the highest run-scorer of the 2020 season with 476 runs, whereas Evans was the 2nd highest with 289 runs. The spinners dominated the wicket-taking charts in the last season too. Wanindu Hasaranga finished at the top with 17 wickets, whereas Dhananjaya Lakshan finished with 13 wickets. Wanindu Hasaranga won the Man of the Tournament last season.

Lanka Premier League winners & runner-ups

LPL 2020: Winner- Jaffna Stallions; Runner-up: Galle Gladiators

LPL 2021: Winner- Jaffna Kings; Runner-up: Galle Gladiators

Here is the list of awards/records of LPL 2021

Man of the Final & The Player of the Season:

These trophies were awarded to Avishka Fernando, who was also named as the man of the match in the final, for his innings of 63 runs in 41 balls. Overall, he scored 249 runs in 9 games in the tournament at an average of 31.12 at a strike rate of 152.76.

Also Read: Pro Kabaddi 2021-22: schedule, squads, venue details and points table

Power Hitter of Final:

Danushka Gunathilaka of Galle Gladiators

Best Striker of Final:

Wanindu Hasaranga of Jaffna Kings.

Emerging Player of the Season:

This was awarded to Janith Liyanage of Dambulla Giants.

Strongest Player of the Season:

This title was awarded to the trophy-winning captain of Jaffna Kings, Thisara Perera.

Most Runs in LPL 2021

  • Kusal Mendis (Galle Gladiators): Runs: 327, Avg: 36.33, SR: 148.63.
  • Avishka Fernando (Jaffna Kings): Runs: 312, Avg: 34.66, SR: 152.94.
  • Phil Salt (Dambulla Giants): Runs:301, Avg: 30.10, SR: 154.35.
  • Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Jaffna Kings): Runs: 296, Avg: 32.88, SR: 137.03.
  • Dinesh Chandimal (Colombo Stars): Runs: 277, Avg: 46.16, SR: 150.54.

Also Read: New Zealand tour to Pakistan in 2022-2023 confirmed

Most Wickets in LPL 2021

  • Samit Patel (Galle Gladiators): Matches: 10: W: 16, Eco: 5.76.
  • Mahesh Theekshana (Jaffna Kings): Matches: 10, W: 16, Eco: 5.87.
  • Jayden Seales (Jaffna Kings): Matches: 6, W: 15, Eco: 7.81.
  • Imran Tahir (Dambulla Giants): Matches: 9; W: 15; Eco: 6.
  • Seekkuge Prasanna (Colombo Stars): Matches: 8, W: 13: Eco: 6.54.

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner