Header Banner

IPL 2024, CSK vs RCB: Ruturaj Gaikwad's CSK Won First Match As Captain

By Rohit - March 22, 2024 - Last updated on Mar 23, 2024 12:15 AM
IPL 2024, CSK vs RCB: Ruturaj Gaikwad's CSK Won First Match As Captain

CSK defeated RCB by 6 wickets in match 1 of IPL 2024

CSK HAVE BEEN UNDEFEATED AGAINST RCB AT THE CHEPAUK STADIUM FOR THE 16TH CONSECUTIVE YEAR Chennai Super Kings has defeated Royal Challengers Bangaluru in match 1 of IPL 2024 with 6 wickets. After opting to bat first in the game, RCB posted 173 for six, thanks to Dinesh Karthik and Anuj Rawat's 95-run stand. RCB were tottering at 78 for 5 at one stage but the duo revived their innings with crucial knocks.

CSK lost both their openers by the seventh over, with Rachin Ravindra blitzing his way to a 15-ball 37 and newly-appointed captain Ruturaj Gaikwad being dismissed for 15. Despite the twin shocks, CSK were 73/2 after 8 overs as they chased a target of 174 set by RCB

FOUR! That's it! Victory for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2024 season opener. The defending champions beat Royal Challengers Bengaluru by 6 wickets in Match 1 at the Chepauk. Shivam Duve hits the winning runs off Alzarri Joseph as CSK hunt down 174 in 18.4 overs. It his debut game for CSK, Rachin Ravindra laid a solid platform in the chase with a breezy 15-ball 37. Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell got starts but couldn't get going. However, experienced Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam Dube rose to the occasion with a superb 50-plus unbeaten stand for the fifth wicket, taking their side cross the finish line with 8 balls to spare. A win for CSK in Ruturaj Gaikwad's first game as skipper!

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) Playing XI

Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Anuj Rawat, Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Playing XI Team

Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni(w), Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande

Winning the toss, Faf du Plessis opted to bat first and got RCB off to a flying start. However, his departure triggered a collapse, with Patidar and Maxwell falling cheaply. Virat Kohli and Cameron Green steadied the innings, but their dismissals left RCB in a precarious position at 78-5.

Enter Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Karthik. The duo began cautiously, accumulating singles and twos. Rawat emerged as the aggressor, and their 95-run partnership rescued RCB. From a precarious situation, Bengaluru reached a respectable total of 173. Mustafizur Rahman was the standout bowler for Chennai, picking up 4 crucial wickets in the middle overs to restrict RCB's initial momentum.

POINTS TABLE - Indian T20 League

#TeamPlayedWonLostTieNRNRRPointsRecent Forms
1Kolkata Knight Riders - Q1493021.42820
2Sunrisers Hyderabad - Q1485010.41417
3Rajasthan Royals - Q1485010.27317
4Royal Challengers Bangalore - Q1477000.45914
5Chennai Super Kings - E1477000.39214
6Delhi Capitals - E147700-0.37714
7Lucknow Super Giants - E147700-0.66714
8Gujarat Titans - E145700-1.06312
9Punjab Kings - E145800-0.35310
10Mumbai Indians - E1441000-0.3188
Recent Forms: W = Won, L = Lost, T = Tie, D = Draw, NR = No Result

Full Schedule: Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 Schedule

Also Read: CSK vs RCB Live Streaming, How, when and where to watch CSK vs RCB live match

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner