Header Banner

IPL 2023: Sourav Ganguly to join Delhi Capitals as director of cricket

By Kaif - January 3, 2023 - Last updated on Jan 03, 2023 06:13 PM
IPL 2023: Sourav Ganguly to join Delhi Capitals as director of cricket

Image Soucre: DC-Twitter

IPL 2023, Sourav Ganguly to join Delhi Capitals as director of cricket

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly will once again appear in the IPL. Delhi Capitals has appointed Sourav Ganguly as its Director of Cricket. After stepping down from the post of BCCI chief, Sourav Ganguly will hold a major post for the first time.

Sourav Ganguly to join Delhi Capitals as director of cricket, Former India captain and former BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has once again joined hands with Delhi Capitals. The franchise has given him a bigger position this time. Sourav Ganguly will be the director of the three franchise teams. The Delhi Capitals franchise has two other teams in the International League T20 (ILT20) and SA T20 (ILT20).

Ganguly had resigned from the post of BCCI president in October last year. He has previously worked with Delhi Capitals. In 2019, he was the mentor of the team. This time he will also be the director of Delhi Capitals as well as the International League T20 team Dubai Capitals and SA T20 team Pretoria Capitals. According to the news, during the mini-auction for 2023 IPL, on the advice of Ganguly and Ricky Ponting, the Delhi team released the players and then placed bets on the new players.

Sourav Ganguly Controversy

Sourav Gangulys last year as the BCCI President has been full of controversies. On the removal of Virat Kohli from ODI captaincy, Ganguly had said that all decisions were taken only after Virat spoke. However, Kohli later said that no one spoke to him. After this, news of estrangement between Ganguly and Kohli surfaced. Ganguly had the option of continuing as BCCI president, but he did not apply for the post any further and was replaced by Roger Binny.

Also Read: Is Shikhar Dhawan career over?, the former coach of the Indian team replied

Players bought by DC in mini-auction

  • Mukesh Kumar (5.50 crores)
  • Riley Russo (4.60 crores)
  • Manish Pandey (2.40 crores)
  • Philip Salt (2 crores)
  • Ishant Sharma (50 lakhs)

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2023

Rishabh Pant (c), David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Manish Pandey, Philip Salt, Riley Russo, Ripple Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakaria, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Engidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Ishant Sharma, Mukesh Kumar.

ipl 2023 sourav ganguly to join delhi capitals as director of cricket 1

Image Source: DC Twitter

David Warner can be made the captain of Delhi Capitals in IPL 2023 after Rishabh Pant fell victim to the accident. If Pant is fit before the IPL, he will take over the captaincy.

Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah returns to Indian team, and will play ODI series vs Sri Lanka

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner