Header Banner

Indias biggest win in the history of test cricket

By Kaif - December 6, 2021 - Last updated on Dec 06, 2021 03:01 PM Indias biggest win in the history of test cricket

Indias biggest win in the history of Test cricket, defeating New Zealand by a huge margin

India vs New Zealand (IND vs NZ) 2nd Test Day 4: India has won the Mumbai Test against New Zealand. With this, India won the series.

India vs New Zealand Test series

The result of the India vs New Zealand Test series played under the ICC World Test Championship has been revealed. After the first match was drawn in Kanpur, the battle for the series between the two countries took place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, which was won by the hosts India. India won the second test match by a huge margin and also won the series. New Zealand lost the match by a margin of 372 runs, while India won the series 1-0. This is Indias biggest win in Test cricket in terms of runs.

Also Read:T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2021

Indias second innings was declared for 276 runs.

Earlier, India had declared the second innings on the third day at a score of 276 runs for 7 wickets. At the same time, India had scored 325 runs in the first innings, in response to which New Zealands innings was bundled out for just 62 runs. India set a difficult target in front of the visiting team by taking a strong lead of 263 runs on the basis of the first innings. In the second innings for India, openers Mayank Agarwal (62), Cheteshwar Pujara (47), Shubman Gill (47), Axar Patel (41 not out) and captain Virat Kohli (36) made significant contributions. For New Zealand, spinner Ejaz Patel, who took all 10 wickets in the first innings, took four wickets while Rachin Ravindra took three wickets.

Virat Kohli


India created history on 6th December under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. India won the Mumbai Test match by 372 runs and this is Indias biggest defending win in Test cricket. India had earlier defeated South Africa by a margin of 337 runs in the year 2015. In this way Virat Kohli has broken his own record. Apart from this, India had won against New Zealand by 321 runs in 2016. However, now the Indian team has worked to strengthen this record even more under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

Also Read:Big Bash League (BBL) 2021-22: Full schedule and Squads

Indias seventh win in 2021

India has won its seventh test match in 2021. The Indian team had won two Test matches against England before winning the Mumbai Test against New Zealand and in the three matches before that India had defeated England in their hosting. Apart from this, the Indian team also won a test match on Australia tour. In this way, India has won the maximum number of seven Test matches this year. At the same time, Pakistans team has won 6 test matches this year. The England team has won four Test matches so far this year.

India won 14th consecutive test series

The Indian team has won the 14th consecutive Test series on its own soil and this is a world record in itself, because apart from India, Australia is the team that has won the most consecutive Test series, but Australias team is now far behind India. The Kangaroo team has won the 10-10 Test series on their own soil twice, but the Indian team had smashed this record of Australia a long time ago. Most of these series have been won by India under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

New Zealands biggest defeat

In terms of runs, this is the biggest defeat in New Zealands Test cricket history. In 2007, New Zealand suffered a 358-run defeat against South Africa before losing to India by a huge margin of 372 runs. Apart from this, on the 2016 tour, New Zealand had to face defeat against India by 321 runs at the Indore ground. Apart from this, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by a margin of 299 runs in Auckland in 2001.

Also Read:Team India upcoming Cricket match schedule 2021-2022

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Best Dream11 Telegram Channel

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner