Header Banner

Indian bowlers successfully defended the minimum runs in the last over

By Ravi - December 5, 2023 - Last updated on Dec 07, 2023 03:03 PM
Indian bowlers successfully defended the minimum runs in the last over

Indian bowlers successfully defended the minimum runs in the last over

Cricket is known for its exciting matches in which the batsmen set the target for their team and then the bowler has to take wickets while saving more runs for his team. He gets a chance to play his role and if the match goes till the last over. At that time the entire team keeps an eye on the bowler. After this the ball is handed over to the most inexperienced bowler of the team. In this we will tell about the bowler who led his team to victory by seeing the least runs in his over.

Sr. No. Player Run AgainstYear
1 Jasprit Bumrah 8 Runs England 2017
2 Arshdeep Singh 10 Runs Australia 2023
3 Hardik Pandya 11 Runs Bangladesh 2016
4 Joginder Sharma 13 Runs Pakistan 2007
5 Ashish Nehra 6 Runs Zimbabwe 2004

5. Ashish Nehra

Ashish Nehra

Ashish Nehra defended 6 runs against Zimbabwe in Perth in 2004. Ashish Nehra had a remarkable career with many memorable performances for India. During the 2003 World Cup, he took 6 wickets for 23 runs against England.

4. Joginder Sharma

Joginder Sharma

Joginder Sharma played 4 ODIs and as many T20 matches between 2004 and 2007. Incidentally, the medium pacer did not play any more matches for India after the T20 World Cup final in which MS Dhoni took a gamble by giving the Haryana medium pacer the last over. This is considered one of the masterstrokes of Dhoni's captaincy career.

Pakistan needed 13 runs in the last over and only one wicket was left. After losing 6 wickets for 77 runs in the final, Misbah-ul-Haq, batting with Mohammad Asif, single-handedly achieved Pakistan's target of 158 runs. After making the equation of 6 runs in 4 balls, Misbah played a scoop shot on the third ball of the over, which went straight into the hands of deep fine-leg fielder S Sreesanth. It was Joginder who took the last wicket in the big final, making India become world champions in the shortest format of the game.

3. Hardik Pandya

hardik pandya axar patel

2016 ICC World T20 match where Mushfiqur Rahim almost won the match for his team, but a lapse in concentration resulted in a dramatic victory for India. In the last over, Bangladesh needed 11 runs to win the Super 10 competition and then Indian captain MS Dhoni handed the ball to Hardik Pandya. The over started with Mahmudullah taking a single off the first ball and Mushfiqur being brought on strike.

Bangladesh's wicketkeeper batsman turned the equation in favor of his team by hitting two fours. With only two runs needed from the last three balls, Mushfiqur even celebrated prematurely on the pitch but then the tables were turned. Hardik did not concede a single run in the last three balls, while taking two wickets as India secured a dramatic win by 1 run.

2. Arshdeep Singh


India sealed a thrilling victory against Australia in the final T20I at M Chinnaswamy stadium, Bengaluru on December 3, Sunday to win the 5-match T20I series 4-1. Arshdeep Singh emerged as a hero for India in the gripping final encounter. With the pressure mounting in the last over of the match, Arshdeep was tasked with defending 10 runs and the left-arm fast bowler showcased remarkable composure and skill, executing his deliveries with clinical precision.

1. Jasprit Bumrah

jasprit bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah bowled the final over to sensationally defeat England by five runs in the second Twenty20 International here and level the three-match series. Eight runs were needed off six balls, but Bumrah probably bowled the over of his life as he restricted England to just two runs in the chase of 145 and ended their innings at 139 for six.

Jasprit Bumrah took the match out of England's bag and put it in India's bag, then in the last over, Jos Buttler dismissed experienced Ashish Nehra for 16 runs with the help of two sixes. However, Bumrah had other ideas, finishing with figures of 2/20 from 4 overs, while his senior colleague Nehra took 3/28.

Also Read: International League T20 2024 All You Need To Know About

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Possible11 Play Store Possible11 App Store
Footer Banner