ICC Cricket ODI World Cup Winners List

By Akanksha - September 27, 2023 - Last updated on Sep 27, 2023 08:22 PM
ICC Cricket ODI World Cup Winners List

Men's ICC Cricket World Cup champions List in ODI: This is the list of men's ODI World Cup champions. In 1975, England hosted the inaugural Cricket World Cup competition. A series of one-day matches with 60 overs per side were played.

In 1987, it was first held outside of England in India and Pakistan. Additionally, the number of overs per side was decreased to 50 for the 1987 match.

Australia, which has won five ODI World Cups, is the most successful nation in the list of T20 and ODI cricket world cup winners. The only two nations that have won the world cup twice each are West Indies and India.

Do you know that since 1973, the ICC has held the same 50-over and 20-over World Cup competition for women? View the ICC Women's World Cup wins list for both the 50-over and 20-over formats, along with information on the match-winning captains.

Men’s ICC Cricket World Cup Winners

India will host the next Cricket World Cup on 5 October in 2023.

The winners of the 50-over ICC Men's World Cup, along with the runners-up and hosts for each year the competition was held, are listed in the table below:

Year World Cup Winner Runners Up Host Finals Venue
1975 West Indies Australia England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1979 West Indies England England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1983 India West Indies England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1987 Australia England India & Pakistan Eden Gardens, Kolkata
1992 Pakistan England Australia & New Zealand Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1996 Sri Lanka Australia India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
1999 Australia Pakistan England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
2003 Australia India Australia Wanderers, Johannesburg
2007 Australia Sri Lanka Australia Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2011 India Sri Lanka India Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
2019 England New Zealand England Lord’s, London

Winning Captains List

In order to win a cricket match, the captain of the team must play a significant part. Winning the ICC trophy also depends heavily on the captain of the squad.

The complete list of cricket world cup champion captains since 1975 may be seen below:

Year Winner Captain
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1983 India Kapil Dev
1987 Australia Allan Border
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2011 India MS Dhoni
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2019 England Eoin Morgan

Also Read: List of Records Break by Nepal Cricket Team During Their Massive Win

Give Your Feedback

Follow Us

Download our App for more Tips and Tricks

Footer Banner